Bacon, kale, potato and mushroom fritata

Kale

I adore kale. I believe other people call it tuscan cabbage, black cabbage, or collard greens. But I call it kale. I first discovered a very pretty variation with verigated, purple, very curly leaves, but rarely see that variety now. Its hearty, earthy goodness inspires me. Although my grandmother never cooked it, I am still reminded of her when I eat it. I understand it is extremely good for you. Luckily, its in season at the moment. I like to saute chopped kale in a wee bit of olive oil, and then finish it off with some verjuice. Delicious! While I will also gladly eat silverbeet and cabbage, I think I like kale most of all because it maintains its texture and is much heartier than its closest relatives. My love for this fabulous vegetable has overridden my favourite Sunday morning frittata (a story for another time). Sadly, the Capital Region Farmers’ Market was closed due to all the rain we’ve been getting the past week, but I could collect a lovely bunch of organic kale (caterpillar and all) from the fabulous ‘farmers outlet,’ Choku Bai Jo.

Serves 1 (generously)

4   kale leaves
1 small potato (I used Nicola)
4   swiss brown mushrooms
1 rasher free range bacon
2   free range eggs, beaten

Place a small non-stick saucepan over medium heat. Remove the rind from the bacon. Slice rasher and add to pan, tossing until the bacon begins to crisp.

Meanwhile, liberally prick the potato all over with a fork. Microwave on high for 1 minute, turn the potato over, and return to the microwave for another minute. Remove from the microwave. Leaving the skin on the potato (unless you have a particular aversion), dice

Bacon, kale, potato and mushroom frittata

into bite-sized pieces. Cut the mushrooms into similar sized pieces. Add mushroom pieces to saucepan. Give them an opportunity to beigin browning before adding the potato. Season to your liking. Increase heat to high. Occasionally toss ingredients so they golden all over.

Roughly chop kale leaves. Add the kale (stem pieces first) to the saucepan, stir through till wilting. Pour egg over all ingredients, ensuring as much of the filling is covered as possible. Push any loose pieces into the egg. Cover saucepan with lid or plate to hold in the heat. Reduce heat to low till the egg is cooked through. (On my electric stove, I turn the heat down to low for a few minutes, then turn the heat off entirely, leaving the pan on the hob to use the residual heat to cook the egg)

This entry was posted in Autumn, Brunch. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

