French toast with rhubarb

French toast with rhubarb

I bought a bunch of rhubarb from the market on the weekend, and was looking forward to baking with it, but haven’t yet come up with what I should do with it. I slept in this morning (I have a couple of days off work, time off in lieu, I’ve been thoroughly enjoying myself), but still wanted a scrummy brunch before heading to Sydney on the train. My loaf of sourdough is getting a bit chewy, so I thought I could make a sweet French toast, paired with rhubarb and perhaps some of the goats cheese I had in the fridge. I thought the tanginess of the fresh and creamy goats cheese would partner nicely with the tangy rhubarb. But I think this would only work with the particular type of goats cheese I have at the moment. However, I imagine it would work beautifully with a dollop of mascarpone cheese. The friend of mine who reintroduced rhubarb to my life would say that there is no point in having rhubarb if you make it sweet, so I use just enough sugar to cut the tartness.

Serves 1

For the French toast

2 slices bread
1   free range egg
2 teaspoons vanilla sugar
1 tablespoon milk

For the rhubarb

3 stems rhubarb
1 tablespoon butter
1 tablespoon vanilla sugar
1 1/2 tablespoon mascarpone cheese (or 1 tbsp ‘Allegro’ goats cheese)

To cook the rhubarb: wash the rhubarb thoroughly and remove the brown, paper thin overhang at the base of the stems, as well as any leaves. Slice the stems diagonally. Melt butter in small saucepan, and vanilla sugar and rhubarb pieces. Toss to coat. Turn stove to high, stirring the rhubarb so it cooks relatively evenly. When some of the pieces start to break down, take the pan off the heat. You want some of the pieces to retain their shape. Set aside.

To make the French toast: beat the egg, milk and sugar in a dish wide enough, with a flat base, to fit your bread slices. Dunk your bread in this mix, so both pieces are evenly soaked on both sides. Melt a little butter in fry pan till bubbling. Add eggy bread. Cook till golden and flip. Repeat till bread is golden on both sides.

To assemble: place both pieces of French toast on the serving plate. Scoop the mascarpone (or crumble the goats cheese) atop the French toast. Place the rhubarb atop the French toast beside the cheese. Serve immediately.

This entry was posted in Autumn, Brunch and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to French toast with rhubarb

  1. languagelynx says:

    Yummo! That looks delicious.

    • uluvsnoozan says:

      oo, it was! I was worried the picture wouldn’t show it up well enough. This Capra ‘Allegro’ cheese i have is going great guns. I am very happy to have the first of the rhubarb for the season! xo

    • uluvsnoozan says:

      oo, it was! I was worried the picture wouldn’t do it justice. The Capra ‘Allegro’ goats cheese I have is going great guns and I’m very happy to have some of the seasons first rhubarb

Leave a Reply

