Would you like some politics with your mushroom and truffle risotto? Some religion perhaps?

We had some neighbours over for dinner during the week. I was looking forward to it immensely. My partner had befriended them and thought they could do with a feed of non-frozen easy meals. They are a great couple, a fine arts student and a grind-core/punk musician. I have no idea what grind-core is, but get the impression that it’s a particular type of metal music. While I do like the idea of making friends with your neighbours, it seems I am too often away from home, and when I do come home, I’m tired, and looking to crawl into my own little cave for regeneration. My partner is much better at the whole thing. I was very much looking forward to riding on his coat tails.

Shimeji, Enoki, Chestnut, King Brown, Oyster mushroooms and thyme for mushroom and truffle risotto

Anyway, I wanted to whiz them up a delightful dish that would meet their vegetarian requirements. I decided to make my mushroom and truffle risotto. It is a dish I love dearly. It’s oh so easy, and hugely rewarding. I do believe it went down a treat. I used a whole selection of fresh mushrooms as well as the dried forest mushrooms required. The drizzle of truffle oil at the end makes the dish simply heavenly, unless of course, like my partner, you don’t like mushrooms.

Mushroom and truffle risotto

Heavens we had a great night, I was glad to make two new friends. They are a very bright and engaging young couple and I thoroughly enjoyed our dinner time discussions about politics and religion. All the great things one isn’t supposed to talk about. We had some great conversations about ethical and sustainable food, and it occurred to me that food doesn’t get much more sustainable than locally grown mushrooms! What fun I had!

Serves 4

20 grams dried forest mushrooms soaked in
2 cups boiled water
2 cups dry white wine
1 cup Aborio rice
1   onion, diced
1 clove garlic, crushed
1 tablespoon butter
1 tablespoon fresh thyme leaves
    parmesan cheese
    fresh ground black pepper and sea salt
2 teaspoons white truffle oil
1/2 teaspoon fresh thyme leaves and flowers for serving

In a small saucepan, soak the mushrooms in the boiled water for 30 minutes. Remove mushrooms from soaking liquid and chop roughly. Retain soaking liquid. Place a larger saucepan over a low heat, melt butter and add thyme, onion and garlic. Cook slowly till the onion goes transparent. Add rice. Cook, stirring till coated with butter. Add mushrooms and season liberally with fresh ground black pepper. Add white wine to the saucepan containing mushroom liquid, keep on the stove at the temperature just before boiling. Ladle liquid into the rice a little at a time, stirring till each ladle is fully absorbed. Continue This process until the rice is cooked, but still has a little bite in the centre. If you are running out of liquid, simply add some water to the wine/mushroom mix. Season with salt and pepper.* Stir through grated parmesan cheese, mixing till well combined.

To serve: place a serve of risotto on the plate. Drizzle over ½ teaspoon of white truffle oil. Garnish with fresh ground black pepper and fresh thyme leaves/flowers.

*If you want to also use fresh mushrooms, simply sauté them in a pan with some black pepper and a little butter, and add to the risotto before stirring through the parmesan cheese. I like to leave the oyster mushrooms out and place them on top to garnish.  I prize them for their texture and delicate flavour, that is best preserved on top.

About Susan

Susan is the ACT Convenor of the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom. She is currently undertaking a PhD in International Relations. Susan continues to work on the Annual Civil Society Dialogue on Women, Peace and Security.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Would you like some politics with your mushroom and truffle risotto? Some religion perhaps?

  1. Pingback: Mushroom and chestnut soup with crisp toppings | Susan's Sumptuous Suppers

Leave a Reply

