Linguine with pumpkin, sage and speck

Linguine with pumpkin, sage and speck

Coming home from work late this evening, I really wanted something much more mellow that the bacon chilli tomato pasta I had promised my partner. When I noticed the lovely golden pumpkin in the crisper, I came up with the pumpkin, bacon and sage combination. It was simple, delicious and definitely filled the mellow requirement. Pumpkin and sage is one of my favourite flavour combinations and I thought the smokiness and crispness from the speck would contrast well. I keep a sage bush on my windowsill. It is one of the few herbs that doesn’t seem to struggle in the cold of my Canberra kitchen. I used sage in a range of different ways in this recipe. Dried sage was added throughout the cooking process and I garnished with both crispy fried sage and fresh leaves.

Serves 2

300 grams linguine
1 clove garlic, crushed
300 grams pumpkin, chopped into small pieces
½ teaspoon dried sage
12   fresh sage leaves
50 grams speck, diced
1/4 cup verjuice
1/4 cup cream
1/3 cup grated parmesan cheese
  to taste sea salt and fresh ground black pepper

Cook pasta to packet directions. In a medium sized frying pan on mid-high heat, crisp the speck, add pumpkin pieces, half the dried sage and garlic. Cook on a high heat, tossing till golden on the outside and just cooked through. Add cream to pan and bring to a simmer. Add the remaining dried sage and verjuice. Drain pasta. Add pumpkin sauce to pasta, stir through grated parmesan cheese and season to taste. Wipe out the frying pan, heat a little olive oil in the pan and fry half the sage leaves till crispy. Serve the pasta and sauce. Garnish with crispy sage and fresh sage leaves.

This entry was posted in Autumn, Dinner, Lunch. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

