Kuchen inspired rhubarb slice

rhubarb kuchen

A colleague of mine inspired me on Thursday. She said she had bananas that needed using and, though she wasn’t rostered on to supply our regular Friday morning tea, she would bake us a one of her delicious banana cakes. I got home and realised I still had half a bunch of rhubarb in the fridge. I had intended, when I bought it, to make a rhubarb kuchen with it, and had never gotten around to it. I pulled out my old notebook of recipes and headed to the late-night supermarket to pick up my missing ingredients. The recipe I have in my book is very simple, and calls for a packet tea cake mix. I remember enjoying tea cake immensely as a child. These days, as you may have twigged, I’m not a fan of things that come in packets. So I was torn when I discovered this is no longer a ‘tea cake’ packet mix available in the stores. I decided to make up my own base, using a little almond meal and a few other goodies. It turned out quite lovely.

Base

60 grams almond meal
200 grams SR flour
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 tablespoons raw caster sugar
100 grams butter, roughly chopped
2   eggs, lightly beaten
1/2 bunch rhubarb, rinsed and trimmed

Topping

 

250 grams (approx) sour light cream
2   eggs
2 teaspoons cornflour
2 tablespoons raw caster sugar
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

 

To prepare the base: Preheat the oven to 180oC. In a medium sized bowl, combine almond meal, flour and sugar. Using your hands, combine the butter with the dry ingredients till a fine crumb is formed. Add vanilla and eggs, mixing to combine. Spread batter over a greased baking tray approx 20x40cm wide. Lay rhubarb across the top of the batter, lining them up closely, cutting the rhubarb to fit. Push the rhubarb gently into the batter. Bake for approximately 20 minutes or until the batter is cooked.

To prepare topping: while base is in the oven, combine the cornflour, eggs and sour cream. Remove the base from the oven when batter is cooked. Pour the topping over the base. Combine the sugar and cinnamon. Scatter the cinnamon sugar evenly over the top of the slice. Return to the oven for approximately 15 minutes, or until the topping has set.

Cool in the tin. When cool, remove from tin and cut into small squares, being careful not to tear at the rhubarb. You can serve immediately, warm or at room temperature, but it lasts well for a couple of days.

This entry was posted in In-Betweens. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

