Tryin’ my hand at bein’ Texan, makin’ Southern fried chicken

southern fried chicken wings

There is a wonderful dairy that sell their wares at the farmers market. I buy my milk from them every week, religiously. There is a cheesemaker that uses their milk to make an amazing 3 year old aged cheddar. I like to use their cream too, if and when I’m going to use cream. I am glad that if I sleep in too long to go to market, Choku Bai Jo stock a good selection of their products. I had been toying with the idea of buying their buttermilk for several weeks, and finally bit the bullet. I thought about making buttermilk pancakes and southern fried chicken. It took me long enough, but I finally made the fried chicken. I have heard that the trick is to marinate the chicken pieces in butter milk for at least six hours. Well, it turned out pretty damn well. My partner was happy, it’s serious man food this one! But I thought it was finger lickin’ good!

Serves 2

2 teaspoons sweet paprika
1/8 teaspoon smoked paprika
1/4 teaspoon chilli powder
1 teaspoon celery seasoning
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon pink peppercorns, ground
½ teaspoon oregano
½ teaspoon onion powder
1 tablespoon chickpea flour
4 tablespoons white flour
1 litre buttermilk
6   free-range, organic, chicken wings

Marinate the chicken wings in the buttermilk for at least 6 hours. Combine flours with the herbs, spices and seasoning, then transfer to a plastic bag. Remove chicken wings from buttermilk and add to plastic bag. Shake the bag until the chicken wings are well coated. If you have a deep fryer, gently fry chicken wings till golden and tender. If not, fill a large saucepan with a mix of olive oil and peanut oil and gently fry the chicken wings till golden and cooked through (I cooked them for about 15 minutes, but some of my wings were quite large).

About Susan

Susan is the ACT Convenor of the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom. She is currently undertaking a PhD in International Relations. Susan continues to work on the Annual Civil Society Dialogue on Women, Peace and Security.
This entry was posted in Dinner. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

