Nestled in a laneway… a quick trip to Melbourne

I have some favourite parts in Melbourne. I will not dine on Lygon Street, despite its rich history. But I love to call into DeGraves Lane (pictured above) off Flinders Street for a quick bite, a cuppa or a looksee. I am often amazed by the great buskers in Melbourne. There was a guy playing guitar in DeGraves, but in Bourke Street I came across a busker I’d not seen before. He had a fabulous piano that was VERY well worn, but had some beautiful, elaborate carving on the front. He wore a soft top hat with a peacock feather in the front and a t-shirt printed with a tuxedo. There is also some amazing street art in Melbourne, and I was happy to see some guys working on one laneways as I passed. I was not the only one who was taking it all in. The colour, depth and line that street artists get is amazing, and I am so grateful they leave it for all to see.

Nestled in the laneway between the GPO and Myer is a fine little restaurant Ca de Vin. At the end of a very quick work trip to Melbourne, I sat down to a quick bite to eat. It’s a lovely little spot. I had eaten there before and had a very memorable mushroom pizza with a drizzle of truffle oil. I’d a few meetings during the day, and run around on the great bergamot hunt, as well as calling into a few must stops. Having been up at 3am that morning, I was very happy to sit down in a quiet laneway and enjoy some good food, and a lovely glass of wine before heading back to the airport. The staff are always fun and friendly, and this was no exception.I had the ‘seafood pan’ with mussels, blue eye, calamari, prawns, garlic, chilli and tomato. It came to the table on a raw wooden board in a simple skillet with a piece of chargrilled baguette. It was delicious. I, and my dining neighbours, could smell its arrival and the olfactory sense didn’t disappoint me. The seafood was cooked to perfection, plump and sweet; and the sauce naturally thick and well balanced. was I washed it all down with a glass of Pinot Grigio from the Mornington Peninsula. I say, what a fine way to finish up a trip to this great city!

About Susan

Susan is the ACT Convenor of the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom. She is currently undertaking a PhD in International Relations. Susan continues to work on the Annual Civil Society Dialogue on Women, Peace and Security.
This entry was posted in Dining Out, Dinner, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

