Another wonderful Saturday… at Capital Region Farmers Market

The cold Canberra wind was bitter and biting this morning. I was initially surprised to see so few people in the carpark at the Capital Region Farmers Market, but soon realised the connection. Kalyarni Natural Farm was out front, the last time before winter. I nabbed some organic garlic bulbs and pink eye potatoes; always delicious and great company. We picked up some saltbush lamb from Bundawarrah. I got a couple of racks, because I’m keen to cure them in honey and smoke them with rosemary when I light the smoker later in the week. I’m very much looking forward to it. I’m running out of home grown honey, so stopped in at Honey Delight. I was very impressed by their Apple Box honey and I’ll certainly pick up a jar of their creamed honey before I make my next batch of chai cupcakes with honey frosting. I purchased a lovely jar of Lucerne honey which should do the trick for a delicious, all purpose honey.

The lovely ladies at Thirlmere poultry had run out of eggs, and I knew they’d likely be the only ones to have any. But I picked up my usual free range chicken, and finally scored myself a guinea fowl. I’m still thinking about what to do with it. I’m toying with either a Normandy inspired roast with apples and Calvados. Guinea fowl originally came from Africa, so my other idea was to go a little more historic with an African inspired recipe.

We got some beautiful King Edward potatoes from Ingelera after trying some they’d fried up in olive oil, butter and garlic to golden perfection. Our regular visit to Balzanelli Smallgoods yielded a delicious hot salami and some kranskies. I still have some cabbage in the fridge, and have been thinking about kransky and cabbage; maybe I’ll even make a little of my own sauerkraut.

Slow Food Canberra – Capital and Country Convivium had a Slow Soup Kitchen on this weekend. I was particularly inspired by the cream of mushroom soup. But they had an array of delicious looking soups including lentil and silverbeet, minestrone, and chunky pumpkin and chickpea. Their next Slow Soup Kitchen will be in July. I’d love to join them. Soup’s are pay as much as you think it’s worth, or as much as you can. The slow food movement internationally links pleasure and food with awareness and responsibility.

Beautiful radishes from Windellama Organics at the Capital Region Farmers Market

I picked up a bunch of chocolate mint from Windellama Organics. I’ve been drinking myself out of peppermint tea and love to make tea from fresh herbs. While chocolate mint is great in deserts, I think I’ll make tea with this bunch. They also had some beautiful bunches of radishes. I’ll be trying radishes again during the week. Last but not least, I picked up a bunch of baby beets that I’m looking forward to later in the week.

About Susan

Susan is the ACT Convenor of the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom. She is currently undertaking a PhD in International Relations. Susan continues to work on the Annual Civil Society Dialogue on Women, Peace and Security.
This entry was posted in Autumn, Gastronomnom...nom, Produce, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

