Vegetarian Get Well Soups

The key ingredients – lemon, garlic and ginger

A friend of mine is ill. He has the dreaded lurgy. He’s not been well for a while now and he’s not eating properly. I like to make my famous Get Well Soup for friends when they’re ill, but he is a vegetarian and my Get Well Soup is full of chickeny goodness. I was having trouble identifying what soup I could make him that would be full of get well goodness, without the chicken. I thought of lemon, kale and quinoa knowing that I could stuff it with garlic, but one of the fabulous get well ingredients is of course ginger, and I really think ginger would be dreadful with that combination. So I have come up with a curry style soup that can be packed full of ginger garlic and mustard seeds, with lovely little florets of cauliflower through it.

I don’t think I’ve ever made a vegetable stock before, but was very conscious that I needed this one to be super tasty but still suitable for both types of soup (and I wanted some for the freezer). I’ve put a massive pot on the stove fully of beautiful vegetable goodness that should do the trick nicely.

Makes about 2 litres of good vegie stock

2   brown onions
1   swede
1   turnip
3   parsnip
4   carrots
4 stalks celery
1 bulb garlic
1 bunch parsley, only the stalks
4   bay leaves
1 teaspoon peppercorns

Wash the vegetables and remove any discoloured skin from the onion and garlic. Roughly cut the carrot, swede, parsnip and turnip. Cut a cross into the top of the onion. Leave the garlic whole. Place all ingredients in a large saucepan and cover generously with water. Bring to the boil and simmer for 2 hours. Strain of the liquid. Save any of the vegetables you wish to use in cooking. Discard the remainder.

This stock is used as the basis for my lemon, kale and quinoa soup; and my spicy cauliflower soup both found in other posts. Both soups are vegan friendly for the really hard core folk out there.

This entry was posted in Dinner, Lunch, Winter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

