Apple Crumble

Apple crumble and ice cream

Cutting apples makes me think of my grandpa. He is the son of an orchardist. They used to grow amazing apples in the Huon Valley, back when Tasmania was the ‘Apple Isle’. Grandma and Grandpa used to preserve the apples they grew in their enchanting garden in Kingston. Even now, Grandpa preserves those he can save from the birds. He still adds gooseberries when they’re stewing, for added flavour he says. I always loved gooseberrries, the tree is hidden up behind the apples. It’s their fascinating paper cases I love, like lanterns sheilding the gooseberry instead of a light. Grandpa fought, and won, a battle with testicular cancer. He used to eat the most odd things to help in battle, including apple seeds. I think they may contain arsenic, or some other cancer fighting compound. Cutting up these lovely apples, I think of him. I have memories from when I was a little girl, peeling the skin off in a snake. Looking at the little apple seeds, I remember watching him in awe as he hunted them out on his plate to gobble them up. I love my grandpa. He grew the most amazing fruit, vegetables and other pretty plants. Unfortunately, the apples I used in this were neither from his trees, nor the Huon Valley. I picked them up at Choku Bai Jo. They are lovely, and the memories are wonderful just the same. I sweetened them with a little honey, another thing that reminds me of Grandpa. I also thought this would make the crumble all the better for eating with a glass of honey wine. I was right.Serves 4

4 Granny Smith apples
2 tablespoons honey
1/4 cup rolled oats
1/2 cup spelt flour*
60 grams butter
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla sugar
1/2 teaspoon ground cinammon

* replace with plain flour

Preheat the oven to 180oC. Peel, core and slice the apples. Place the apples in a medium sized pan with the honey and heat to begin the cooking process and ensure even distribution of the honey.

Pound the oats in a mortar and pestle so they are of finer, but uneven consistency. Combine all the remaining ingredients in a bowl. Rub the butter through the dry ingredients till the mixture comes together.

Place the warm apples in the bottom of a baking dish and sprinkle the crumble mixture over the top and bake till golden. This may take around 30 minutes.

Serve with vanilla icecream.

This entry was posted in Dessert, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

