It sure beats the hell out of a trip to ‘Woolies’

It was such a beautiful day in Canberra this morning. The spring produce has well and truly arrived and didn’t I pick up a bucketload of it! Expensive medical tests this week cut my market budget considerably, but my $70 purchased supplies for a wonderful week of fresh food that’s healthy and still pretty special. On the meat side of the house, I bought prosciutto and hot salami from Balzanelli Smallgoods for Monday night pizza; beef cheek for one, and beef mince (hopefully for ravioli) from Gilmore Braes Heritage Beef. It was the herbs and vegetables that were truly wonderful though.

I picked up a bunch of lemon balm from Windellama Organics. I’ll be making lovely fresh herbal tea with it all week. The bunches of thyme had flowers on them, so they’ll make very pretty garnishes on my mushrooms during the week. I got a lovely sweet bunch of carrots, two of whom seem to be in love, which is quite a bonus. I bought a bunch of little beetroots to roast for salad with the goat cheese I have left from last week’s trout salad. I picked up a little bunch of asparagus from a stallholder I’d not seen before. They are fat stalks, so I think I’ll chargrill them. I couldn’t resist a bunch of watercress from the guy who sells native lime trees. It should work a treat in a salad with the asparagus and prosciutto. I was very excited to see the first zucchini flowers of the season. We have some friends coming for dinner later in the week. If I can keep them for that long, I’ll stuff them with some ricotta and serve them as a lovely springtime starter. There were at least four stallholders selling mulberries. I was very excited about it. I finally it the bullet and bought a punnet. I scooped some out as soon as I got home and had them for brunch with some cream – very naughty, but very good. Lastly, I picked up a wedge of late season pumpkin and a big bunch of spinach. Hopefully I get around to making a ricotta, spinach and pumpkin lasagne during the week.

Spring vegetables from the Capital Region Farmers Market

This entry was posted in Produce, Spring. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

