Baked eggs with chestnut mushrooms, kale and pecorino

Baked eggs with chestnut mushrooms, kale and pecorino

A friend of mine recently taught me about coddled eggs. She had known the dish by it’s French name, but not its English name, and was quite excited to discover it in English. I myself, had never known about coddled eggs in English, French or any other language at all. It was quite a revelation. I have been seeing ‘baked eggs’ alot. I found a blogger who baked eggs with the delicious one day old cheese from Bruny Island Cheese Co. Indeed, I’ve seen them in many places. The idea appealed to me. As far as I can tell, the difference between coddled eggs and baked eggs is that coddled eggs are baked in a water bath. That is all. This seems like a valuable difference. Today however, I wanted to make baked eggs. I was happy with the crispiness I expected from eggs baked without the protection of a water bath. I love the chestnut mushrooms on sale at the farmers market, and thought they’d be lovely with some kale in this dish. I had wanted to use Tom cheese from Bruny Island, but it was sadly eaten right from under my nose. So I picked up some pecorino instead. I think one of the best things about this dish is being able to serve it straight from my little copper saucepan, on the small wooden tray I bought in Rwanda. Perhaps you have some equally sweet dishes to use.

Serves 1

1 teaspoon butter
1/3 cup chestnut mushrooms
3 leaves kale
1 teaspoon grated pecorino cheese
2 free range eggs
to taste salt and pepper
2 pieces hot, buttered toast

Preheat the oven to 180oC. Melt the butter in a small, oven proof saucepan. When the butter is sizzling, add the mushrooms and briefly sauté. Chop the kale and add any stalks to the saucepan. Take the saucepan off the heat and add the remaining kale and the grated cheese. Mix the ingredients a little, and arrange the kale and mushrooms around the outside of the saucepan. Crack the eggs into the middle of the saucepan and cover with a lid or foil. Bake at 180oC for about 5 minutes, or till the eggwhites are cooked, but the yolks are still runny. Season with salt and pepper and serve with hot buttered toast.

About Susan

Susan is the ACT Convenor of the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom. She is currently undertaking a PhD in International Relations. Susan continues to work on the Annual Civil Society Dialogue on Women, Peace and Security.
This entry was posted in Brunch, Lunch and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baked eggs with chestnut mushrooms, kale and pecorino

  1. Pia says:

    Fantastic, and so lovely with the little saucepan!

Leave a Reply

