Chocolate coated soft clotted cream fudge

Chocolate coated soft clotted cream fudge

So I made clotted cream a few weeks ago, especially to make clotted cream fudge. Unfortunately, my kitchen scales seemed to disappear, and I didn’t own a sugar thermometer. As a result, my fudge turned out very very soft. It was still incredibly delicious and I decided it would make a great chocolate filling. I was right. I really think it should be coated in dark chocolate to balance the sweet milkiness of the fudge. After additional research into fudge making, I’ve figured out what I did so we can all replicate it. I have to say, naughty as this is, it’s TOTALLY worth it. I used a silicon chocolate mould called ‘volcano’ to make this. I’m glad I used a silicon mould, but I guess you could use an ordinary plastic mould.

300 grams clotted cream
1 vanilla bean
2  tablespoons golden syrup
1 1/4 cups caster sugar
2 teaspoons whiskey
100 grams dark, fair trade chocolate

Scrape the seeds from the vanilla and place the seeds and bean into a small heavy based saucepan with the clotted cream, golden syrup, caster sugar and whiskey. Simmer gently till it reaches the soft ball stage (a drop of the mixture will form a soft ball in a cup of water). Remove from the heat and allow to cool slightly before transferring to a storage container. Keep in the refrigerator.

Melt the chocolate in a bowl over simmering water. When the chocolate is melted, turn the heat off, but leave the bowl above the hot water. Using a food safe paint brush, paint your chocolate moulds with the melted chocolate and refrigerate for 5 minutes, or until set. Repeat this to ensure the moulds are thoroughly coated with chocolate, and refrigerate again. When this second coat is set, scoop small amounts of the soft fudge into the moulds. Press the fudge down, and make sure it does not come over the top of the mould. Then pour a little more chocolate over the top of the fudge to seal it in chocolate. Return the chocolates to the refrigerator to set before popping out of the mould.

Store in the refrigerator, but for optimal flavour, bring them to room temperature before serving.

This entry was posted in Dessert, In-Betweens. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

