Fruit toast with ricotta, honey and toasted almonds

Fruit toast with ricotta, toasted almonds and honey

I had the most wonderful morning at market yesterday. We actually ended up staying for three hours! I met a bunch of stallholders for the first time and tried some great produce that was new to me. Some of my favourite stallholders had some exciting new products. I finally bought a fruit loaf from Dom’s Woodfired bread. It has wonderful big chunks of dried fig through it. I was very excited to see that Country Valley dairy had fresh ricotta for sale. I bought a while of that and the wonderful folk at Wins Creek Honey and Mead gave me little tub of their delightful chestnut honey. It truly is wonderful, and I’m very lucky to have some because it has a short season. These ingredients combined to make a truly delicious post-market breakfast – fruit toast with ricotta, honey and toasted almonds.

Serves 1

1/2 teaspoon olive oil
1 tablespoon slivered almonds
2 slices fruit bread
1 tablespoon ricotta
1 teaspoon honey

Heat the oil in a small saucepan and gently toast the almonds till golden. Toast the fruit loaf and spread with ricotta, scatter with toasted almonds and drizzle with honey. Serve immediately.

This entry was posted in Brunch and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

