Coconut muesli with mango and passionfruit yoghurt

Coconut muesli with mango and passionfruit yoghurt

I’ve had some coconut chips in my cupboard for a while now, since making mango coconut cupcakes actually. I wanted to finish them off and thought they’d be great in a muesli. With the mangoes coming into season, and a few local passionfruit around, I thought this would make a great combination. As a child, I was very rarely given any sort of junk food. A treat that I most thoroughly enjoyed though, was a mango of my own. I have some very fond memories sitting in the playground sucking all the flesh from the pip of a mango before washing my hands clean at the drink fountain. I would suggest adding cashew nuts to this. I didn’t, and I think it wants them. I added pepita and sunflower seeds, because I had them in the cupboard, but I encourage you to look into the health benefits of various seeds and grains, and see what you think your body might benefit from: chia, linseed, soy. Take your pick.

1/3 cup rolled oats
2 teaspoon honey
2 teaspoons seeds
1 tablespoon coconut chips
1 tablespoon cashew nuts, roughly chopped
1 fresh mango
1 passionfruit
1 tablespoon active yoghurt

Preheat the oven to 120oC. Scatter the oats, cashews and seeds on the baking tray and drizzle with honey. Roast for about 20 minutes, stirring regularly, till golden. Remove from the oven and add the coconut chips, combine and allow to cool completely.

Cut open the passionfruit and mix half the pulp with the yoghurt.

Slice the cheeks off the mango and score the flesh in strips, ‘pop’ the cheek, and remove the slices of mango from the skin.

Place the muesli mixture into your bowl. Arrange the mango slices in a star shape atop the muesli. Dollop on the passionfruit yoghurt and garnish with the remaining passionfruit pulp. If desired, serve with milk or pineapple juice.

This entry was posted in Brunch, Summer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

