Spinach and rice pilaf

Spinach and rice pilaf

Spinach and rice pilaf

I have no idea if this dish has any resemblance to a traditional pilaf. I first made it to serve with stuffed capsicums, because it’s what I thought they needed. But I liked it so much I also served it with my Za’atar crusted chicken and zucchini salad. I get the impression it may keep cropping up on my menu. I think it’s a great way to trick those less appreciative into eating spinach, and it’s a lovely flavoursome way to value add to rice. Besides, I have a freezer full of chicken stock, which will not likely be used for soup or risotto over the summer and I want the room for ice cream.

Serves 2 as a side

1 teaspoon butter
1 clove garlic, crushed
1 onion, diced
¾ cup long grain rice
1 ½ cups chicken stock
½ bunch English spinach, finely chopped
salt and pepper

Melt the butter in a small saucepan and cook the garlic and onion till transparent. Add the rice, stirring to coat. Add the chicken stock and simmer till rice is just tender. (Do not stir during this stage. The aim of the game is to cook the rice in the traditional absorption method, but with the added flavour of the onions and stock.)  Turn off the heat and stir through the spinach (the heat from the rice should cook the spinach). Season to taste.

About Susan

Susan is the ACT Convenor of the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom. She is currently undertaking a PhD in International Relations. Susan continues to work on the Annual Civil Society Dialogue on Women, Peace and Security.
This entry was posted in Dinner, In-Betweens. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spinach and rice pilaf

  1. Pingback: Za’atar crusted chicken with zucchini salad | Susan's Sumptuous Suppers

  2. Pingback: Stuffed capsicums | Susan's Sumptuous Suppers

  3. Hi Susan, it’s been a while, hope you’re well. I have to say that spinach and rice are some of my favourite ingredients together – simple & flavourful! This rice dish would be a great addition to the giveaway I’m running at the moment – sharing your favourite rice recipe to be in the winning of a $50 Kitchen Warehouse voucher. All you need to do is add this link here – https://missfoodfairy.com/2017/02/28/chinese-fried-rice-win-a-kitchen-warehouse-voucher/
    Hope to see you there xx
    PS I’ve pinned this for later reference for the next time I want something easy & tasty 🙂

Leave a Reply

