Yabby salad with finger lime and pepperberry dressing

Yabby salad with finger lime and pepperberry dressng

Yabby salad with finger lime and pepperberry dressng

This combination is made in heaven, but is also very grounded. For my international readers, yabbies are the native, common freshwater crayfish of Australia. Their meat is dreamily sweet. As a child, we would go hunting them with green nets that resembled the Sydney Opera House, a contraption designed to prevent the little crustaceans finding their way out again. I guess children still go yabbying. I hope they do. I no longer have a dam in which to go yabbying nor holidays to places where I may do so. Imagine my excitement then, when I discovered Glendino’s oranges have them growing in their irrigation channels and are licenced to sell the at the Capital Region Farmers Market. On request, they bought me a kilo this morning; healthy, lively little critters hiding among some willow branches.  Yabbies live in streams and damns all over the country. It is their Australianness that inspired me to prepare this simple salad with a dressing of native ingredients.

There is a great kitchen shop at Old Parliament House called The Kitchen Cabinet. They run great workshops and cooking classes and it’s a great place for getting regional produce of all descriptions. I was glad I was in luck when I checked their freezer for a bag of frozen native finger limes from Sandy Creek. I don’t think they’re quite in season yet, but they freeze so well that it really doesn’t matter. The beautiful purple colour of this dressing comes from ground pepperberries, and the oil that binds it all together is of course Macadamia oil. I used water cress for my green and it worked a treat.

Serves 2 as a main, or 4 as a starter

12 yabbies
3 finger limes
2 teaspoons macadamia oil
4 pepperberries
1 pinch salt
2 cups watercress leaves

Put the yabbies to sleep by placing them in the freezer for about 15 minutes. Meanwhile, pound the pepperberries in a mortar and pestle with the salt. Cut the finger limes in half lengthways, remove the seeds, and scoop the flesh into the mortar and pestle with the macadamia oil. Pound to combine.

Bring a pot of water to the boil and add the yabbies, cooking till they change colour. Remove yabbies from the pot and allow to cool a little. If you like to serve them whole, feel free to do so, or save one particularly fine specimen to cut in half and serve atop the salad. Otherwise, break off the tails and claws. Cut the tails in half and remove from the shell. If you like, mix a little of the bright orange yabby mustard through the dressing.  Arrange the claws in a star shape on your serving plates. Toss the tail meat with the watercress leaves and dressing. Arrange atop the claws and serve with half a yabby if desired.

This entry was posted in Dinner, Lunch, Summer and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Yabby salad with finger lime and pepperberry dressing

  1. languagelynx says:

    Yes, we still go yabbying! Well, I’m not a child but we take our children yabbying. 🙂

  2. languagelynx says:

    PS This recipe looks incredible. Would love to try it but might find it difficult to get the other ingredients. Any tips for online shops that might deliver to regional Victoria?

    • uluvsnoozan says:

      Oooo, yes.

      Get your pepperberries online from either Gewurzhaus or Outback Pride. Both deliver. Outback Pride (to whom I’ve linked in the intro to the recipe) is a great business invested in indigenous communities, but somehow I always end up buying from Geurzhaus, an incredible small business based in Melbourne. All their spices also come in the most beautiful brown glass jars.

      As for finger limes, it seems you may be able to buy them online at http://www.limeburst.com, but my internet doesn’t seem to like the site. Considering how green thumbed you both are, you may be able to grow a tree yourself, if you have a small greenhouse.

    • uluvsnoozan says:

      I forgot about Macadamia oil. Brookfarm have a fantastic range of macadamia products. Their macadamia oil is great. I’m using one of theirs at the moment. I picked mine up from Woolies actually, but you can buy online direct from them at http://www.brookfarm.com.au/where-to-buy/online-shop/australia/p/3911. Macadamia oil is actually very good for you, not that one likes to make a competition with olive oil, but I used to have a bulk bottle of macadamia oil that I used in place of peanut oil, especially for asian style cooking, which I find doesn’t lend itself to olive oil. I haven’t found a replacement producer for my bulk supply yet, hence the Brookfarm (it’s a little costlier you see, but delicious). xo S

  3. Pingback: Yabby claws with kutjera (bush tomatoes) and spaghetti | Susan's Sumptuous Suppers

  4. Pingback: My yabby Saturday | Susan's Sumptuous Suppers

  5. wow, looks so fancy and damn delicious!!!!

Leave a Reply

