Chocolate Rudolph biscuits

Rudolph biscuits

Chocoate Rudolph biscuits

I always buy Christmas paraphernalia in the sales after the event. I have picked up some lovely bits and pieces over the past few years, without being able to try them out. I was particularly stoked when I came across a Rudolf Cookie Cutter. I haven’t seen it in the stores since, but I understand you can still get it online. It’s just the outline of his head. Imagine all the different faces I can paint on Rudolf! I’ve been coming up with as many different red sweets as I can imagine to use for the noses. Although reindeer biscuits lend themselves to gingerbread, I wanted to make mine chocolate. To add to the chocolatey goodness, I used melted chocolate for decoration.

Makes about 20

200 grams butter
1 cup dark muscovado sugar*
1 egg
¼ teaspoon vanilla extract
2 ½ cups plain flour
4 tablespoons cocoa
50 grams white chocolate
20 small, red round lollies**

* Substitute dark brown sugar.

**I used Jols sugar free pastilles forest berries; red M&Ms; red Skittles; and Jelly Belly’s cinnamon and very cherry jelly beans

Preheat the oven to 190oC.

Cream the butter and sugar till light and fluffy. Beat in the egg then sift over the flour and cocoa. You may need to use your hands to knead the ingredients into a soft dough. Working in portions, roll out the dough to about 5 millimetres thick. Cut out the Rudolph shapes with your cookie cutter and arrange on a lined baking tray. Be careful not to break off the antlers. Bake for 8-10 minutes. Leave to cool on the tray. Transfer to a wire rack when firm. Store in an airtight container.

To decorate, melt the chocolate in a bowl above boiling water. When it’s melted, transfer to a ziplock bag. Snip off the very tip of one corner, and pipe the chocolate onto the biscuits to make whatever face you’d like. Affix the nose with a little melted chocolate. Allow the chocolate to set completely before packaging.

All th different faces on my chocolate Rudolph biscuits

All the different faces on my chocolate Rudolph biscuits

This entry was posted in In-Betweens and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chocolate Rudolph biscuits

  1. languagelynx says:

    Ah, they’re gorgeous Susan! I especially love the winking Rudolph!

Leave a Reply

