Cherry and almond Florentines

Cherry and almond Florentines

Cherry and almond Florentines

One of my friends makes Florentines every Christmas. I’m told she gets lynched if she doesn’t make them. I thought it might be nice to make a simple Florentine to serve with dessert on Christmas day. I’m serving Christmas pudding ice-cream you see. Since I didn’t make it myself, and since it has a relatively dull colour and texture, I thought some Florentines would liven up the plate a little. I settled on almonds and cherries for my Florentines. I don’t like glace cherries, so I’m using some dried cherries that the folks over at Torry Hill Orchard make. You could use glace cherries if you like, or some other berry… cranberries perhaps? I’m sure they’d be nice. Anyway, these are super simple and will be perfect with coffee or wrapped in a stack to give as a gift.

Makes about 12

1 tablespoon dried cherries, finely sliced
2 cups flaked almonds
1/3 cup icing sugar
1 orange, zest of
1 egg white
50 grams chocolate (optional)

Preheat the oven to 150oC and line a couple of baking sheets with baking paper.

Mix all the ingredients together in a bowl.

Place tablespoon sized portions of the mixture onto the baking tray and flatten with a spoon or fork.

Bake for 10 to fifteen minuted, until the cookies are golden brown all the way through. My oven is not good on low temperatures, so after 15 minutes of baking when they still weren’t brown, I turned the oven off and went out (I was in a hurry to get to the store before it shut, Christmas presents to buy, you know how it is). They turned out perfectly coloured, and perfectly crisp. If you take them out before they’re golden all through, I’m told they won’t be agreeably crisp.

If you want to coat the Florentines is chocolate, melt the chocolate in a bowl over simmering water, and coat the back of the biscuits with chocolate, spreading all the way to the edge. Use a fork to make a wavy pattern in the chocolate. Leave to set completely.

Store the Florentines in an airtight container until ready to serve.

This entry was posted in In-Betweens and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cherry and almond Florentines

  1. Pingback: Christmas at the proles in Kinshasa | Susan's Sumptuous Suppers

  2. Pingback: Brandy caramel sauce | Susan's Sumptuous Suppers

Leave a Reply

