Brandy caramel sauce

Christmas pudding ice cream with brandy caramel sauce and a Florentine

Christmas pudding ice cream with brandy caramel sauce and a Florentine

I’ve never made Christmas pudding. One year I’d like to make one. But this year, I bought some beautiful Christmas pudding ice cream from Frugii ice cream at the Capital Region Farmers Market. John Marshall makes the most amazing ice-cream, but I did feel a little guilty about serving a bought dessert on Christmas day. I thought I could add a textural element with a cherry and almond Florentine. Feeling a little bit creative, I made a beautiful brandy caramel sauce to swirl on the plate. It came out a treat. I only made a wee little bit, but it’s pretty simple quantities for you to increase as desired.

1 tablespoon sugar
1 tablespoon water
1 tablespoon brandy
1 tablespoon cream

Place the sugar and water in a small saucepan. Simmer till the colour turns golden.Turn the heat down to low. Carefully add a splash of brandy to the sugar (I added it straight from the bottle to keep my hands clear of the spitting sugar). Add the cream and simmer till well combined. Drizzle a little sauce on a serving plate, add two scoops of ice cream and serve with a Florentine.

This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

