Cheesy corn chips with salad

Cheesy corn chips with salad

Cheesy corn chips with salad

I love it when I pull together a meal from whatever I have lying around the house and it turns out fabulously. This is one of those dishes. I find myself eating much less meat in the summertime and had no interest in any for lunch today. I had a mysterious bag of corn chips on top of the refrigerator, sour cream from yesterday’s quesadillas, some salad stuff, and a fingerlime in the freezer. I’d have used normal lime juice if I had some of that, but the little gems of fingerlime flesh totally did it for me in this, the citrus equivalent of caviar. You really want to make this. Trust me. I reackon it’d make a great Saturday lunch, or if you’re like me and sometimes lunch at home during the working week, that works too.

Serves 1

1 cup corn chips
2 tablespoons grated cheese
1 cup rocket
1 tablespoon tomatoes, chopped
125 gram can of four bean mix, drained
1 fingerlime
1/2 teaspoon lemon infused olive oil
1 tablespoon sour cream

Arrange your corn chips on a plate and scatter over the grated cheese. Place under a the grill on medium heat and toast till the cheese is melted. Remove from the grill.

Meanwhile, combine the four bean mix, rocket and tomatoes. Cut the fingerlime in half, discard the seeds and scrape the flesh into the salad. Add the olive oil and combine thoroughly.

Serve the salad atop the warm corn chips and dollop the sour cream on top. Serve immediately.

This entry was posted in Dinner, Lunch, Summer and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

