Fingerlime, tuna and rocket spaghetti

Fingerlime, tuna and rocket spaghetti

Fingerlime, tuna and rocket spaghetti

I love having fresh chillies and a string bag of fingerlimes in the freezer. It means I can whip up delicious dishes like this at the drop of a hat. If spaghetti with broad beans, zucchini and herbs is ‘spring spaghetti’, surely this is ‘summer spaghetti’. All you have to do is cook the pasta, then add the other ingredients, so it’s very little effort and very little heat in the kitchen, but you get maximum taste. For those around Canberra, I got my bag of fingerlimes at The Kitchen Cabinet in Old Parliament House. My step-Mum grew my chillies, bless her.

Serves 2

180 grams spaghetti
185 gram can of tuna in olive oil
3 fingerlimes
1 red chilli, finely chopped
2 cups rocket
1 salad onion, finely sliced (optional)

Cook the spaghetti in salted water according to the directions on the packet. Turn off the heat. Drain the spaghetti and return to the saucepan.

Add the tuna and its oil to the spaghetti, stir and break up the tuna as desired.

Cut the fingerlimes in half. Discard the seeds and scrape the flesh into the pasta. Add the chilli, onion (if using) and rocket. Mix thoroughly and serve.

This entry was posted in Dinner, Lunch, Summer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fingerlime, tuna and rocket spaghetti

  1. Oh, how yummy! I wasn’t aware that you could freeze fingerlimes! You can buy them at EPIC, you know.

    • uluvsnoozan says:

      Indeed, the chap at Geranda Prouce has them when they’r in season. I wanted some for my yabby salad before he had any in though, so I called into The Kitchen Cabinet to get a frozen bag. It’sgreat having them there whenever I want them.

Leave a Reply

