Savoury Peach Melba salad

Savoury Peach Melba salad

Savoury Peach Melba salad

The peaches are so wonderful at the moment. I wondered if I might make a savoury version of the classic peach and raspberry dish, Peach Melba. I have a truly divine raspberry finishing vinegar from La Barre. I realised bocconcini would make a lovely milky substitute for the custard that’s in the original. With some poached chicken and green leaves, I thought I’d be able to pull together a lovely salad. I used mizuna for my salad leaves because I’ve fallen in love with the varieties grown by Windellama Organics, but I think baby spinach would work very well. I also think it would be lovely if you wanted to finely chop some fresh sweet basil leaves to mix through. I’m certain the basil, peaches and raspberry vinegar would work perfectly together.

Serves 1

1/2 cup cooked chicken meat
1/2 fresh peach
1 cup salad leaves
20 grams bocconcini
1 teaspoon extra virgin olive oil
2 teaspoons raspberry vinegar

Tear the chicken into bite sized pieces. Thinly slice the bocconcini. Combine the olive oil, salad leaves, chicken and cheese. Peel and finely slice the peach. Gently mix through the salad then arrange on a serving plate. Drizzle with raspberry vinegar and serve.

This entry was posted in Dinner, Lunch, Summer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

