Plum and duck salad

Plum and duck saad

Plum and duck salad

I was waiting in line at the farmers market on Saturday, when I was distracted by a blood plum that was being cut at the neighbouring stall. It looked irrespirable: dark and glossy, and not too sweet. I bought half a dozen. I had dreams for them, which included a plum and rhubarb trifle, but I ate most of them. Well, all but one. I saved it to make something a lot like this. I finely sliced each plum half, skin and all, to fold through the salad. I cut up my duck this evening, and used one of the breasts in this salad. Fried skin side down to crisp perfection, then coloured on the other, I let it rest before slicing it for the salad. These two ingredients would of course be perfectly dressed with my La Barre Blood Plum Finishing Vinegar. I added a little leatherwood honey for flavour, you can use any strongly flavoured honey though. A little salt, some greener, and VOILA! Delicious summer salad that makes the most of our Aussie summer stonefruit.

Serves 2

1 large duck breast
1 plum
3 cups mizuna, or other salad leaves
2 teaspoons plum vinegar
1/2 teaspoon strongly flavoured honey
2 teaspoons olive oil
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 pinch pepper

Place the duck breast skin side down in a non-stick frying pan. Place on medium heat and cook till the skin is crisp and golden. Turn the duck breast over and cook the other side for a minute or two. Remove the duck from the pan and set aside in a warm place. Rest for at least five minutes.

Wash your salad leaves and chop into desirable pieces and place in a salad bowl. Run a sharp knife all the way around the plum, cutting all the way to the stone. If you can pull the halves away from the stone, do so. If not, cut them away. Slice the plum halves finely and place in the bowl.

Combine the vinegar, honey, oil and salt then add pepper to taste.

Thinly slice the duck breast. Pour the resting juices into the dressing. Add the duck slices to the salad. Mix the salad with your hands, so the ingredients are well distributed. Dress and serve with crusty bread.

This entry was posted in Dinner, Lunch, Summer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Plum and duck salad

  1. Susan, this looks and sounds very delicious!

    • uluvsnoozan says:

      Thanks Liz! It was delicious. I’m glad I could hold onto a plum for long enough to make it. I love the Mizuna that Lyn and Russel sell at Windellama, it’s a leaf just just fits very nicely in suh dishes. The Thirlmere ducks are so delicious, those La Barre Vinegars are wonderful. It’s a market dish all over.

  2. EasyKoreanfood says:

    Hello! I recently just started a youtube Korean food channel, EasyKoreanFood, where you can learn how to make fast and easy Korean food! It would mean the world to me if you took the time to check it out because I’m just starting out! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

