Chargrilled mackeral with green olives, capers and parsley

Blue mackeral with parsley, green olives and capers

Blue mackeral with parsley, green olives and capers

I fell in love with these little mackeral at De Costi Seafood at the Sydney Fish Market on Monday. They were plump and firm and I’d been wanting to cook mackerel for a while. It was decided. I bought two – one for me, and one for my friend. They cost me less than $5. I wanted to have them for dinner that night, but got home too late. So I’m having them a few days later. Mackeral is a white fish but is oily and quite firm, so it’s well suited to barbequing. I have a lovely cast iron chargrill pan that I’m going to cook them on. I’ll rub them down with a paste of green olives, capers and parsley. I’m excited.

Serves 2

2 whole mackeral (approximately 800 grams worth)
12 green olives, pitted and roughly chopped
2 tablespoons fresh parsley, roughly chopped
1 teaspoon capers
1 teaspoon oil
1 pinch freshly ground pepper

Clean and rinse the fish. Blitz the green olives, parsley capers, and pepper or pound them in a mortar and pestle till it is a course paste. Add the oil and process again to bring together.

Score both fish three times on each side, through the thickest part of the flesh. Rub the paste all over the fish and inside the cavity.

Preheat the chargrill or BBQ to high. When it’s hot, cook the fish for about 5 minutes on each side, or till just cooked. Remove from the grill and set aside to rest for a few minutes.

Serve with a simple warm potato salad dressed with lemon juice and olive oil. Feel free to add a little green salad too.

Chargrilled mackeral

Chargrilled mackeral with green olives, capers and parsley

This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chargrilled mackeral with green olives, capers and parsley

  1. Pingback: Warm potato salad with lemon and olive oil | Susan's Sumptuous Suppers

Leave a Reply

