These are a few of my favourite things

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I think I have a new favourite place in Canberra. We had a lovely Saturday afternoon. We went for a lovely drive out to Hall, watched some of the National Sheepdog Trial Championships and had a bit of a wander around Hall. The Rotary Club of Hall is the only rural club within the ACT. That’s the club that runs the Capital Region Farmers Market. The town certainly has that vibe to it. It was lovely.

On the way back into Canberra, we stopped in at Gold Creek Village, something I’ve been meaning to do for years. We went seeking an ice cream shop. Boy! Did we find one! Stripey Sundae opened in October 2012. They serve Fair Trade coffee, homemade ice cream, sundaes, thickshakes, the works.

The décor is absolutely fabulous, with white walls and homemade bunting totally doing it for me. The ice cream was truly divine. I was not surprised when I found out it was made by Frugii, the local ice-cream celebrity. The flavour choices change weekly. While it was very hard for me to say no to the nectarine sorbet, I had a scoop of salted butter caramel and one of dark chocolate. Both were superb, and worked well together in one cone.

It was a truly splendid way to spend an afternoon. I suggest you try it sometime too. While it is sure to appeal to the young ones, my young at heart partner also said he’d love to have a birthday party there. I’m quite inclined to agree, and imagine I may find myself having a celebratory treat there in the near future.

Stripey Sundae are open Thursday – Sunday 10:00am – 5:00pm

You will find them at:

11 O’Hanlon Place
Gold Creek
Canberra

About Susan

Susan is the ACT Convenor of the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom. She is currently undertaking a PhD in International Relations. Susan continues to work on the Annual Civil Society Dialogue on Women, Peace and Security.
This entry was posted in Dining Out, In-Betweens, Morning or afternoon tea, Snack, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to These are a few of my favourite things

    • uluvsnoozan says:

      It’s my absolute pleasure John!

      My thanks goes to you, who makes the wonderful ice-cream! I was talking with the guy in the store (who’s name I’ve forgotten) and he tells me you had Laksa ice-cream this week! I’ve actually been storing up photos of the ice creams I get from you to write a post just about Frugii. I simply fell in love with Stripey Sundae as soon as we walked in the front door!

  1. Last time I met John / Mr Frugii at the markets I ended up trying musk ice cream and rice pudding ice cream. They were scrumptious. He’s a devil with those free samples. He knows you get addicted for life!

    My other favorite place out at Gold Creek Village is Cherry Seed, the cupcake place. The thing to do there is make a special order. I’ve been buying their vanilla with vanilla buttercream icing mini cupcakes since they were at the markets, so must be back seven or so years now. Ordering 20 mini cupcakes and then just looking at them for a while, knowing how good they are going to taste, makes me happy. Sort of like having Frugii ice cream in my fridge 🙂

    • uluvsnoozan says:

      Hi Jeni!

      Lol, I know exactly what you mean about John! It’s very cheeky. I’m not complaining though! I’ll have to visit the Cherry Seed next time I’m out there, that sounds great!

      Cheers
      Susan

Leave a Reply

