Easter nests

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I received an Easter parcel from my mother on Wednesday. I was so excited when I opened it and saw these adorable teeny weeny sugar coated chocolate eggs. I thought they were simply adorable and wanted to make something to show them off. I was thinking about a meringue nest for them to nestle in. A friend of mine suggested they’d be lovely with the Persian fairy floss I’ve used before. She was right, the eggs would look beautiful cushioned by some pashmak. When I remembered that Pariya make a chocolate flavoured pashmak, it all fell into place.

In the past I’ve used vanilla pashmak. I used it to make clouds on top of my grandpa’s 90th birthday cake and used a vast quantity to top the heavenly almond and vanilla honey syrup cake my partner took to a party. This wonderful product comes in a range of glorious flavours including rose and pistachio. I highly recommend you go to the Pariya website and check out what they do. You can purchase from them online.

Easter nests

Easter nests

Makes about 24 (depending how many eggs and nests you eat in the process)

2 egg whites
2/3 cup caster sugar
1 teaspoon fair trade cocoa
50 grams chocolate pashmak
72 tiny sugar coated eggs

Preheat the oven to 150oC.

Beat the egg whites to stiff peaks. Gradually add the sugar and beat till thick and glossy. Sift the cocoa over the eggwhite mixture and fold through.

Line a baking tray with parchment. Fit a small round nozzle to a piping bag and scoop your meringue mixture inside.

Thinly pipe the meringue mixture into a solid circle four to five centimetres in diameter to form the base of the nest. Then pipe the ‘walls’ of the nest by drawing circle upon circle atop the edge of your base. Repeat until you have about 24 nests. You can do them in batches if you’d prefer.

Bake for about 20 minutes at 150oC. Please check them after 15 minutes, my oven doesn’t do well at low temperatures, so it’s hard to provide sound advice. You want them to be crisp. Allow the meringues to cool completely. If you test one, they should be crisp all the way through. Store the meringues in an airtight container until you want to assemble them.

Line the nests just before you want to serve them because the pashmak will absorb the moisture from the air once exposed, and become lank. Remove a small portion of pashmak from the bag. You will see the pashmak comes apart in ropes. Break one of these ropes so it becomes quite thin, then wrap it around your finger.  Arrange this little circle of pashmak inside the nest and continue arranging as desired.

Add three tiny sugar coated eggs (each of a different colour) and serve.

This entry was posted in In-Betweens, Morning or afternoon tea and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Easter nests

  1. I love the Pariya range as well – have you tried their Saffron fairy floss?? – and their website is a joy to explore. I spend way too much time rolling my cursor over the beautifully shaped bottles on the home page , which magically then become intricately coloured.

    I also recently encountered Spun Fairy Floss at a Brisbane market. I think of them as the Frugii of fairy floss, with their absolutely extraordinary flavours. I’m addicted to the Creme Brulee at the moment 🙂 http://www.spunfairyfloss.com.au/shop.html

    • uluvsnoozan says:

      Hi Jeni!

      Spun look incredible!!! Thanks for the tip!

      Pariya do have the most glorious website don’t they! I haven’t tried the saffron one yet. I find the bags so big, it’s hard to get through. I still have most of my chocolate left from Easter.

Leave a Reply

