Scrambled eggs with celery heart and smoked trout

The heart of the celery is underrated. I love the pale tender shoots and leaves that come from the middle of the celery and I think they pair perfectly with trout. For Easter a couple of years ago, my friend bought a massive trout for lunch and I stuffed it with celery heart, softened leeks, almond meal and thyme then wrapped it in the green part of the leeks and roasted it to perfection. It was delicious. It was a beautiful fish. I was sad he was called home in a family emergency. We still enjoyed the fish though.

Srambled eggs with smoked trout and celery heart

Srambled eggs with smoked trout and celery heart

Unable to get to market last week, I couldn’t go to my usual supplier of smoked trout. I have noticed a local brand popping up around the place, and decided to buy a whole smoked Snowy Mountains Trout. I was very impressed with it and have used it several ways. This morning I wanted to use the last of it for my brunch. I’d purchased half a bunch of celery at the market for beef stock and had been eyeing off its beautiful heart when I knew I should again combine the ingredients in one dish. It worked a treat.

Serves 1

1/2 teaspoon butter
1 pinch salt
1 pinch ground pepperberries*
2 free range eggs
1 tablespoon pale leaves and stalk from the heart of the celery, finely chopped
1/2 teaspoon fresh parsley, chopped
grams hot smoked trout
1 sprig basil, to garnish (optional)
1 or 2 pieces bread
butter, to spread

* Replace with juniper berries or pepper

Melt the butter in a small non-stick saucepan on a low heat. Add the salt and pepperberries. Crack the eggs into the pan and stir with a wooden spoon to break up. Place the bread in the toaster. Cook the eggs gently, stirring occasionally, for a few minutes. When lumps of egg are cooked, and only a little raw egg is left in the pan, turn the heat off and continue to stir the eggs. You’ll see this runny egg will thicken and you’ll be left with moist creamy scrambled eggs. Add the celery heart and parsley and stir through. Your toast should be popped, butter it and scoop over the scrambled eggs. Flake the smoked trout on top and garnish with a basil sprig, if using. Serve immediately.

This entry was posted in Brunch and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Scrambled eggs with celery heart and smoked trout

  1. thefoodsage says:

    I love celery heart, too and this sounds like such a lovely way to use it. Will source me some smoked trout and give it a try. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

