Pumpkin risotto with burnt butter, toasted almonds, crisp sage and C2

Pumpkin risotto with burnt butter, toasted almonds, crisp sage and C2

Pumpkin risotto with burnt butter, toasted almonds, crisp sage and C2

This dish celebrates autumn. I was very glad when I was recently given some home-grown pumpkin. I knew I wanted to use some of it in one of my favourite risottos. When my latest Cheese Club offer arrived from Bruny Island Cheese Co. with some of their Raw Milk C2, I knew the nuttiness of the cheese would be perfect. My ingredient list was complete when a dear friend of mine bought me a beautiful bouquet of home grown herbs, including some purple sage. Some sliced almonds and burnt butter would bring this autumn dish together perfectly.

Serves 2

1 teaspoon butter
1 small onion, finely diced
1 clove garlic, crushed
250 grams pumpkin, roughly chopped
3/4 cup aborio rice
1/4 cup white wine
1 pinch dried sage
500 millilitres chicken or vegetable stock
2 teaspoons butter, additional
1 tablespoon sliced almonds
12 fresh sage leaves
70 grams Raw Milk C2 or parmesan cheese

Heat the stock in a separate saucepan until it starts to boil, then turn the heat down so the stock is steaming.

Meanwhile, melt a teaspoon of butter in a non-stick saucepan and gently cook the onion and garlic. Add the pumpkin pieces and stir. When the onion is soft and translucent add the rice and dried sage, stirring to thoroughly mix. Add the wine and stir till the liquid is absorbed.

Add one ladle of the hot stock to the rice, stirring to combine. When the liquid is absorbed, add another ladle of stock and stir. Repeat until the rice is cooked to al dente. As the pumpkin cooks, squash it against the side of the saucepan so the risotto takes on a lovely orange colour.

Shave a few pieces of cheese from the piece of C2 and grate the remainder into the risotto, stirring through.

Melt the butter in a small saucepan. When the butter is sizzling, add the sage leaves and cook till crisp. Remove the sage from the pan and add the almonds. Gently cook until the almonds are golden and the milk solids from the butter have fallen to the bottom of the pan and turned light brown in colour.

Serve the risotto with the shaved cheese, crisp sage leaves and almonds. Pour over the burnt butter and serve immediately.

This entry was posted in Autumn, Dinner, Lunch and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pumpkin risotto with burnt butter, toasted almonds, crisp sage and C2

  1. Tina says:

    How much cheese would you use please???

    • uluvsnoozan says:

      Hi Tina! I’m sorry, I forgot about that. I think I used about 70 grams for two serves. Because I used the C2, it worked very well to have a generous amount. If you’re not using C2, feel free to add half that to begin with, and then add more to meet your tastes.

  2. thefoodsage says:

    This looks like an awesome risotto – which is a favourite dish of mine. I’ve never come across C2! Thanks for sharing your recipe.

    • uluvsnoozan says:

      Thank you! I’m a member of the Bruny Island Cheese Club, which I’d highly recommend, so I can get a good selection of their cheeses posted to my door. The C2 has a lovely nuttiness to it. You could replace another raw milk cheese with a nutty flavour. Oddly, I found the flaour in Swiss Emmentaler comparable. But you could just use parmesan if you want to.

Leave a Reply

