Kale and potato hash with parmesan and poached eggs

Oh man, this was a GREAT breakfast. I wanted to incorporate some kale into my weekend breakfast, but couldn’t part with the idea of making the rosti I posted about in ‘Swiss brunch’. So I decided to add the kale to the rosti, call it something else and serve it with some parmesan cheese. It was a great success. It’s always great to add this delicious, nutrient dense vegetable to a meal. I thoroughly enjoyed this dish as is, but I think it would also be great served with some bacon or mushrooms.

Serves 1

1 cup kale, finely chopped
1 medium-large potato, washed thoroughly
1 pinch salt
2 teaspoons butter
1 free range egg
1 tablespoon parmesan cheese, grated
pepperberries or black pepper, freshly ground

Grate the potato. Combine with the salt and kale. Melt the butter in a non-stick frying pan on medium-high heat. Arrange the potato mixture into two large patties in the frying pan; flatten with the spatula while they cook. After four or five minutes they should be golden and feel quite firm on the bottom when you move them in the pan, flip them over and cook till golden on the other side.

Meanwhile, bring a small saucepan of water to the boil. Stir the water to make a small whirlpool and crack the egg into the middle. After 30 seconds, turn off the heat but leave the pan on the element. The residual heat should cook the egg to perfection.

To serve, stack the patties on top of each other and scatter with parmesan cheese. Place the poached egg on top and sprinkle with grated pepperberries or black pepper.

This entry was posted in Brunch and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Kale and potato hash with parmesan and poached eggs

  1. Corrie says:

    Thank you so much for this recipe! I have been trying for years to find a recipe which I think works with poached eggs which is gluten free and something I look forward to! This looks perfect.

  2. Fig & Quince says:

    It looks: GREAT! Bookmarking as I will have to try this for my very tummy’s sake.

  3. Corrie says:

    I made these this morning. I did not have kale in the fridge but I had baby spinach and chives and this was delicious! One of the best ‘cafe brekkies’ I have ever made and so easy and quick too. So much better than bread!

  4. Pingback: Verde Hash with Sauteed Mushrooms, Poached Eggs, and Hollandaise Sauce | Our Little Family Adventure

Leave a Reply

