Risotto Milanese

Risotto Milanese

Risotto Milanese

I made chicken stock lastnight. I put one block of it in the freezer this morning, but it’s actually pretty full in there. I woke late and felt like a savoury breakfast. Randomly, I decided to use some of the beautiful saffron a friend of mine gave me to make that sweet, saffron infused risotto of Milan. It’s the first time I made it but I will certainly be making it again. Heavens, it was divine! I have some beef brisket cooking in red wine, the richness of which I think would be perfectly tempered by this sweet  risotto, so I may be making it sooner rather than later. It is very easy.

Serves 1

2 teaspoons butter
1/2 onion, finely diced
1 clove garlic, crushed
1 generous pinch saffron
1 teaspoon milk
500 millilitres good quality chicken stock
1/4 cup verjuice or white wine
1/3 cup aborio, or other risotto rice
2 tablespoons grated, parmesan cheese

Melt the butter in a non stick saucepan and gently cook the onion and garlic. Gently break up some of the saffron stamens and soak them all in the milk. Place the chicken stock in another saucepan and heat to just below simmering point.

When the onions are translucent and smell sweet, add the rice and stir to combine. Cook for a few minutes then add the verjuice or wine and mix well. When the liquid has evaporated add a scoop of hot chicken stock and stir to combine. Stir every now and then till the liquid has been absorbed. When the liquid is absorbed, add another scoop of chicken stock and repeat the process. After about ten minutes, add the milky saffron. Continue adding the stock a scoop at a time, stirring till it’s absorbed. When the rice is done, add the parmesan cheese (save a little to garnish) and mix well. Garnish with parmesan cheese and serve. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Autumn, Dinner, Lunch, Winter and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Risotto Milanese

  1. Chas Spain says:

    Risotto for breakfast – you’re a true gourmand and would obviously live very well in Asia. I felt a bit pathetic on my recent trip to Indonesia that I couldn’t embrace the savoury breakfast deal and start the day with spiced rice and noodles like the locals.

    • uluvsnoozan says:

      😀

      Hey Chas, indeed I lived very well in Asia. I didn’t quite get acustomed to congee for breakfast, I often found it very bland. But I did enjoy one breakfast at a street stall that sold it with steamed pork buns. I quite enjoyed that. I am confident I’d gladly enjoy the Indonesian nasi goreng for breakfast. I liked the nasi lamak they have in Malaysia.

      I woke after midday this morning (which I haven’t done since my teens) so I figured I could go straight to lunchtime food. I think I felt like indulging myself too. With the chicken stock there ready to go, a good pinch of saffron certainly fit that bill!

Leave a Reply

