Indulgent chocolate chip cookies

Indulgent chocolate chip cookies

Indulgent chocolate chip cookies

I love that these cookies are chewy (just how I like them) but still have crunch from the cocoa nibs. I’ve been wanting to make them for ages but only decided what would be in them this evening. I wanted the rich caramel flavour you get when you use brown sugar in the biscuit base. I deliberately used ingredients of the highest quality because we’ll be eating these on an interstate road trip for a foodie weekend workshop. I used amazing organic butter and my last Daintree vanilla bean. I will have to buy more of those beans because the flavour they have is simply incredible. I did toss up whether or not I’d include nuts in these bickies, but decided it would probably be too much, particularly with the high quality of the ingredients. The starting point for this recipe was spelt flour, for it’s lovely nutty flavour. Spelt is an ancient grain, with more natural resistance to pests and diseases than wheat, so it’s much easier to produce organically, and generally requires less pesticide. I gave the cookies a double chocolate hit with Green & Black’s milk chocolate (which has a wonderfully high cocoa content) and the raw cocoa nibs. I contemplated using a couple of different types of chocolate, but I think it works wonderfully just like this.

Makes about 24 cookies

125 grams butter
3/4 cup dark brown sugar
1 vanilla bean, seeds only
1 free range egg
1 1/2 cups spelt flour
1/2 teaspoon bi carb soda
1/3 cup cocoa nibs
200 grams Fair Trade milk chocolate, roughly chopped

Bring all your ingredients to room temperature for about 30 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 180oC.

Cream the butter, sugar and vanilla seeds until pale and fluffy. Add the egg and combine. Sift over the flour and bi-carb soda, add the cocoa nibs and chocolate and stir till combined.

Line a baking tray with silicone paper.

Place spoonfuls of mixture on the baking sheet, allowing room for them to double in size. I made my cookies with less than a tablespoon of dough.

Bake at 180oC for about 15 minutes. You want the biscuits to be just golden at the edges. If yours are bigger than mine, obviously they’ll take longer.

Allow them to cool on the tray for a few minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

