Absence makes the heart grows fonder

I had a wonderful morning at the Capital Region Farmers Market today. I know they say absence makes the heart grow fonder, and I’ve missed two markets in the past month, so maybe it’s true. It was lovely to see my favourite stall holders again. I picked up some pork goodness from Boxgum Grazing to make make a wild duck cassoulet and ordered piece of middle for next week. I’m going to veer from my usual recipe for dry cured bacon, and try making a honey cured bacon with some Win’s Creek honey. I’m quite excited.

Mark Dureau was back with his wild rabbits. I’m going to use the end of my first pressed olive oil to confit the rabbit legs. I think I’ll cure them in a mixture of salt and olive leaf, then cook them incredibly slowly at a very low temperature. I called in to see Mick at Glendino’s citrus and was glad to see he still has the beautiful Daisy Mandarins I used to make my mandarin chocolate frangipane tart. He also has a new variety of orange, Cara Cara that has a beautiful pink flesh. I think it will be delicious in a fennel salad.

I came home and happily tucked into some of Pialligo Farm’s ‘Irish style’ baked beans on Dom’s bread. I fell in love with the beans when they bought samplers a few weeks ago and have been waiting patiently for them ever since.

What did you collect at your farmers’ market?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Susan

Susan is the ACT Convenor of the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom. She is currently undertaking a PhD in International Relations. Susan continues to work on the Annual Civil Society Dialogue on Women, Peace and Security.
This entry was posted in Produce, Uncategorized, Winter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

