Tempura mushrooms

My family are Tasmanian. Every new year in Hobart there is a festival called The Taste of Tasmania with stalls selling food made with delicious local produce. There’s beer and wine too. It was many years ago, when the business was very young, that I discovered Bruny Island Cheese Co there. I tried their 1792 washed rind cheese that is cured between veneer of Huon pine, a uniquely Tasmanian too, was very memorable. One stalwart of the festival is tempura mushrooms made with Huon Valley Mushrooms. They are truly delicious. It has been many years since I’ve been able to go to the festival, so I decided to make some myself.

Li-Sun sell a wonderful array of ‘exotic’ mushrooms at the Capital Region Farmers Market. I chose a selection that would provide contrasting shapes, colours and textures as well as flavours, for my tempura. Of these, my favourites were by far the enoki and oyster. The enoki took on a wonderful nutty flavour that I don’t otherwise notice. They are also very dramatic to look at on the platter and suck up the dipping sauce. The oyster mushrooms are one of my favourites for flavour and texture. They didn’t disappoint in this tempura. Noel also sells King Brown mushrooms that he recommends for this purpose. I think I’d use them instead of the shitake next time.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Serves 1-2 (4 or more as a starter)

300

grams

assorted exotic mushrooms (I used enoki, shitake, shimeji, wood ear and oyster)

1

 

egg

1

cup

iced water

1

cup

plain flour

1

pinch

bicarbonate soda

   

oil, for frying

1 ½

teaspoon

soy sauce

1 ½

teaspoon

rice wine vinegar

Prepare your mushrooms. Remove any dirt from them. I cut the wood ear into large pieces. I kept the oyster mushrooms whole and slice the shitake. Pull the shimeji apart. Chop off the bottom of the bunch of enoki and break them into small bunches.

Tempura mushrooms

Tempura mushrooms

Beat the egg and iced water. Sift over the flour and whisk to combine. You want a batter about the consistency of thin cream. Add the bicarb soda.

Combine the soy sauce and rice wine vinegar in a small dipping bowl and set aside.

Heat a pan of oil until it’s hot. When you add a battered mushroom you want it to sizzle instantly.

Working in batches, one type of mushroom at a time, coat the mushrooms in the batter and add to the hot oil. Do not add them all at once, or the oil will cool. When the mushrooms are crisp on the outside, remove them from the oil and place in a single layer on a wire rack.

Serve the mushrooms straight away on a platter with the dipping sauce. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Dinner, Lunch, Produce and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tempura mushrooms

  1. The King Browns definitely work best 🙂 (and taste so good)

  2. Pingback: Mushroom and chestnut soup with crisp toppings | Susan's Sumptuous Suppers

  3. leanne says:

    I have to say I was at the taste of tasmania tonight and a loved the share platter that was served except for the parsnip which was not edible..very dissapoined that it would be server at such a high profile event

Leave a Reply

