In my Grandpa’s garden

It’s springtime in my Grandpa’s garden. Summer is by far the best time in his garden, because as the son of an orchardist, he grows by far the best stone fruit ever. I’m not at all biased by the fact he’s my Grandpa. He also grows berries. So it’s very exciting in the summertime. However, spring is lovely. He has beautiful flowers all over the place, but there are still edible goodies for me to raid.

I was a little bit late for his asparagus, which had already gone to flower, but I scored the very tips of a few of the shoots. I simmered them for less than a minute for a lovely snack. There’s ruby chard and silverbeet gone to seed all over the place, keeping me stocked with greens. The almonds a far plumper than I imagined, so I’m keen to google when they’ll be ready. For years and years Grandpa has complained about the birds getting them all. Perhaps this year we can save some. The pears are tiny on the tree, but some of the plums and peaches are plumping well and the figs are surprisingly fat. It seems the raspberries have struggled down by the road, but the loganberries up the back of the property are going gangbusters. Some are in bloom, but many have budding berries. The bees are certainly getting busy. There’s a lemon tree with some fine specimens I’ll steal. I was surprised to find a couple of patches of wild strawberries redding up nicely. It seems my mother was right, the mulberry tree is nowhere near ready, and will likely fruit after the loganberries. There are a few passionfruit flowers on the vine and one broken fruit that the ants got to, but those flowers are so pretty!

I’ve been making meals with the herbs from the garden beside the path to the clothesline. I was glad to see a bay tree. I can’t tell if it was marjoram or oregano I picked, but the sage is flowering and parsley flourishing (as per usual). By far my favourite rosemary bush in the whole world is still growing scraggly through the fence. It has a wonderful thick trunk with bark that has to be seen to be believed. I’ve used some of it already, and have plans for even more.

It’s such a blessing to have a wondrous garden like this to explore and enjoy. My grandparents always took such pride and joy in it. I hope it will be around for a little longer at least. But everyone’s time must come to an end.

This entry was posted in Produce, Spring, Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In my Grandpa’s garden

  1. What a lovely ‘picturesque’ post – i can almost see your grandpa’s garden. I live this line: “The pears are tiny on the tree, but some of the plums and peaches are plumping well and the figs are surprisingly fat.” Very evocative. Great work, Susan.

  2. What a beautiful garden your grandpa has, Susan… and may I just say how lucky you are to have your pa still around… I never got to meet either of mine : (

    • Susan says:

      I have been incredibly lucky. He has been a rock in my life. He is an inspiration and has taught me so much. Alas, he had a massive stroke on the weekend and is lying unconscious in the hospital. He had 91 good years though.

Leave a Reply

