Plum and ginger crumble

Nan came home from church last week with a big bowl of plums. “I bought you a present” she said. People often bring things like that from their garden when they have excess and Nan knows how I love home grown. I was not however, entirely sure what I’d do with them. One of my followers on facebook suggested I make chai spiced plum jam. I have several jam plans this year, and didn’t think I’d have capacity for plum as well, but I did like the idea of adding spice. Pop likes ginger, so I decided to make this spiced plum crumble with some fresh ginger with the plums; and some cinnamon and allspice in the crumble. I think it was delicious.

Fruit

750 grams cherry plums
1/2 teaspoon fresh grated ginger
1/4 cup brown sugar

Crumble

2 tablespoons brown sugar
100 grams butter
1/2 cup plain flour
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon allspice
1/4 cup rolled oats

Preheat the oven to 200oC.

Roughly chop the plums and remove the pits. Add them to the baking dish with the grated ginger and brown sugar, mix roughly.

Place the sugar butter and flour in a mixing bowl and rub the ingredients together with your fingers. When the mixture is like breadcrumbs, but with some large lumps, add the cinnamon, allspice and oats. Mix to combine and spread atop the plums.

Bake at 180-200oC for 20 minutes or until the top is golden.

Serve with ice cream and or cream.

About Susan

Susan is the ACT Convenor of the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom. She is currently undertaking a PhD in International Relations. Susan continues to work on the Annual Civil Society Dialogue on Women, Peace and Security.
This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

