Wallaby tacos

Wallaby taco

Wallaby taco

Taco Tuesday went Australian this week, to celebrate this great land. I visited Hobart’s Farm Gate Market on Australia Day, and have been carrying on the theme all through the week. I was chuffed to meet Ross O’Meara from Bruny Island Food. He’s also on The Gourmet Farmer TV series with Matthew Evans. Anyways, I picked up some goodies from him including a couple of wallaby tails that I thought would be great for Taco Tuesday. The tails are tasty and cheap and perfect for slow cooking. Not in my own kitchen, I didn’t have any fancy chillis to cook them with, so this is a pretty simple recipe involving half a packet (left over) of shop bought taco seasoning and a fresh tomato I had lying around. I did however add these amazing Black Spanish radishes I bought at the Burnie Farmers Market from Old School Farm. I understand they are incredibly good for you. They even make an extract of black radish. I was expecting them to be bitter, but thought they were just perfect in these tacos: crisp and fresh.

Serves 2

500 grams wallaby tails (about two)
1/2 packet taco seasoning (enough for 250 grams of meat)
1 tomato, diced
4-6 tortillas
2 Black Spanish radishes
1 cup sweet corn kernels
1 cup sour cream
1/2 bunch chives

This step can be done a day ahead. Brown the wallaby tails in a hot pan. Add the taco seasoning and diced tomato, cover with water and simmer for 3-4 hours, or until the meat is falling from the bones. Allow the meat to cool in the cooking liquid. Remove the tails from the liquid, pull the meat off and discard the bones. Bring the cooking liquid to a rapid boil and reduce till thick. Be sure there are no bones left in the cooking liquid.

Add the meat back to the thickened cooking liquid and heat.

Gently toast a tortilla in a dry frying pan, turning when golden brown.

Meanwhile, slice the radish, drain the corn and roughly chop the chives.

When the tortilla is toasted, scoop on some meat, dollop on teaspoonfuls of sour cream, scatter over slices of radish, a generous quantity of sweet corn and chives.

Eat immediately.

Repeat with the remaining tortillas and filling until you are full and/or you run out of ingredients.

This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Wallaby tacos

  1. thefoodsage says:

    “Eat immediately” … i would, if i could. Sounds fantastic. Now … to find me some wallaby tails!

    • Susan says:

      Lol, thanks Rachel! You really should get yourself some roo tails, these were seriously awesome tacos. I’m so sorry it’s taken me so long to get back to you. I don’t know how your comment slipped by me. I hope you are well. Enjoy your tacos! 😉

  2. The Global Recipe Project at crowdedearthkitchen.com is seeking authentic recipes from Australia. I hope you will consider participating! 🙂

    • Susan says:

      Hi Betsy,

      Thanks so much for the comment. Can you explain the purpose of your recipe quest?

      I have a few ‘original Australian’ recipes that may be appropriate, depending on what you’re interest is.

      Cheers
      Susan

      • Absolutely!

        Here is a link to the Global Recipe Project, which aims to gather authentic recipes from every country in the world: http://crowdedearthkitchen.com/global-recipe-project/

        Short term, I would like to feature a few recipes on the crowdedearthkitchen.com blog (with credit to their authors, of course). Long term, I plan to assemble these recipes into a cookbook, with proceeds benefitting international food aid organizations.

        Recipes may be submitted through the comment/submission link at the web address above. Please feel free to contact me with any additional questions. I appreciate your willingness to consider submitting one or more recipes to the Global Recipe Project!

Leave a Reply

