Making josterberry cordial

I was very excited when my friend bought us a punnet of josterberries at the Farm Gate Market last weekend. When I travel I have a rule I must try a new thing every day. Well, it’s not easy for me to pull this off in Tasmania, but josterberries were indeed new to me. I am told they are a cross between black currents and gooseberries. I would describe them as a giant, mildly flavoured black current. We ate some of them with our daily cheese platter. Yes, you read that right – we had a cheese platter each night she stayed. Yes, that was awesome. I also halved some of the berries and put them through a salad. However, there was no way I was going to be able to eat them all once she left. It was after all, a one kilogram punnet.

When I was a girl, I remember making black current cordial with my Grandma in this very kitchen. I was so excited flicking through my Nan’s Country Women’s Association cook book and I photographed the recipe they had for black current cordial. I was certain this recipe could be applied to my josterberries so I decided to get my granny skills on and make myself some cordial. Because I only post original recipes on Susan’s Sumptuous Suppers, this will not be a regular recipe post, but a sort of photographic essay of my wonderful josterberry cordial. You can see the recipe in my the photograph.

The recipe says to strain the juice from the josterberries. I used a single layer of chux cloth to do this, and rested it inside a large colander/sieve. I was then exceedingly thrifty and decided to try and make a josterberry paste, to serve with cheese, from the pressings. As such, I went through the pressings removing the stems and most of the seeds to reuse these in another recipe. I am still waiting to see how that works out.

This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making josterberry cordial

  1. Liz Posmyk of Bizzy Lizzy's Good Things says:

    n interesting berry, Susan. Love the old recipe book!

    • Susan says:

      🙂 Thanks Liz! I am totally in love with this old recipe book. I’m hoping Nan’s going to donate it to me before I go. She has a modern reprint of the same book, which is cool, but I love the well loved version better.

Leave a Reply

