Susan’s Sumptuous Suppers is selling something wild

 

Eat more weeds.

Perhaps we should all eat more weeds. I’ve been loving how much tasty food there is for the forager here in Tasmania. I remember my Grandma telling me about this thing or that when I was a wee tacker. I’m down here on sabbatical so to speak. With no money, but an omnipresent love for good, exciting, local food I’ve really been taking up what nature is offering me here. You may recall my rapture at discovering wild fennel on the roadside. I made a wonderful vegan ‘pesto’ with that crop. It’s so good I’ve decided to share it.

I’ve been eagerly awaiting the ripening of the blackberries here in Burnie. They were beginning to blush when I left for Hobart several weeks ago. They are now in full swing. I figured that I might be able to capitalise on this wild abundance. No one else seems to realy pick them, but blackberries are surely in the first class. Pretty strapped for cash, I figured blackberries would make a great base for a market stall. I could value add, creating a range of yummy products others would otherwise not get, and not have to pay for my main ingredient. So I’ve made blackberry cordial which is amazing and blackberry jam, because you can’t not. It is by far the superior jam, though I would be glad to hear if you disagree.

Sticking with the free main ingredient idea, I’ve been stashing lemons, from friends around town, like a squirrel with acorns. I’ve made lemon cordial which is of course totally different to the blackberry kind, but is very refreshing and still superbly delicious. I have lemons preserving in salt for those wanting to cook Moroccan. Of course some will go into the ‘wild fennel and lemon pesto’ I discussed earlier. Last but not least I’ve borrowed a dehydrator and am blending an all natural lemon tea with lemon myrtle, lemon balm from my Grandpa’s garden and the dried lemon pieces. It is wonderfully relaxing and will be sold in lemony teabags.

So come on down to the Wivenhoe Showgrounds and buy something from my first ever stall, at the Burnie Farmers and Craft Market from 0800-1200 on Saturday 1 March. If you can’t make it, I’d be glad if you’d wish me luck; I’d very much like to sell out of everything! Just to be safe though, I’ll be at the following market on Saturday 15 March.

This entry was posted in Autumn, Produce, Store, Summer, Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Susan’s Sumptuous Suppers is selling something wild

  1. Pingback: Susan’s Sumptuous Suppers is selling something wild | Conversations with a Toddler

  2. leahjo88 says:

    Ooooh, I’m wishing you HEAPS of luck Susan! But I know you won’t need it. 😉

  3. Liz Posmyk of Bizzy Lizzy's Good Things says:

    Go girl! Love your work xox

    • Susan says:

      🙂 Thanks Liz! I quite enjoyed it. It’s nowhere near as busy as in Canberra, but it was fun to be on the other side of the counter for a change. xo

Leave a Reply

