Strawberry mousse

I picked so many strawberries from Pop’s berry patch this season that it’s ridiculous. We’ve had loads of wonderful bowls of fresh strawberries and cream or ice cream for dessert. I’ve made two batches of strawberry and vanilla jam, and one batch of strawberry and vanilla dessert sauce that I’m selling at the market and online. But I thought I could do something different. Pop’s having trouble with his teeth and I thought he’d appreciate if I made a mousse. I made it up as I went along, and I’m really happy with how it turned out. We served it to a very old friend of my Nan. They’ve known each other so long that she can remember meeting my Nan when Nan was only sixteen! How cool is that! I was glad that she enjoyed the mousse too. I thought I’d layer the strawberry flavour by serving it with the aforementioned strawberry and vanilla sauce and some fresh strawberries. You could pop a wafer in the top, grate over some chocolate, the sky is the limit. I hope you like this strawberry mousse recipe.

Strawberry mousse

Strawberry mousse

Serves 4

1 vanilla bean
3/4 cup sugar
strawberries
1 cup water
2 teaspoons gelatine
300 millilitres whipping cream

Cut the vanilla bean lengthways and scrape out the seeds. Place the seeds and bean in a small saucepan with the sugar and half the water. Simmer until the sugar is dissolved and mixture is fragrant with vanilla. Add the strawberries, mash the berries and cook till the berries are just falling apart (about 10 minutes). Pass this mixture through a fine sieve and set aside.

Boil the remaining water. Dissolve the gelatine in the boiling water and add to the strawberry mixture. Set aside to cool to room temperature.

Meanwhile, whip the cream to stiff peaks.

When the strawberry mixture is cool to the touch, add a generous spoonful of the whipped cream and combine. Then fold through the remaining cream. Place in the refrigerator till set.

To serve, dip a large spoon in hot water and scoop out the mousse into individual serving bowls. I think it would look nice in martini style glasses. I served it some other sort of in stemmed glass dishes.

Enjoy!

About Susan

Susan is the ACT Convenor of the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom. She is currently undertaking a PhD in International Relations. Susan continues to work on the Annual Civil Society Dialogue on Women, Peace and Security.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Summer and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

