Still selling something wild

Summer has well and truly passed, and the blackberry season is over. It was fabulous while it lasted. It seems everyone else enjoyed my blackberry cordial as much as I did, however there will be no more till next year. I am very happy to say that you will be able to find both my blackberry and lemon cordials at Paddle Wheel in Melbourne’s Prahran Market for as long as it lasts. I will keep making the lemon cordial throughout the year. If you all go racing to buy it up from Paddle Wheel, they might ask me to supply them with more. That would be very exciting.

This whole enterprise of ‘selling something wild,’ particularly the online component, has been such a success that I’ve decided to keep it going. My selection will vary with the seasons and general availability. With the coming winter, I’m looking forward to developing a range of dry soup mixes to warm your insides in the colder months that will be far better for your body and soul than a ‘Cup-a-Soup.’ I’m hoping to develop a wild mushroom and chestnut soup mix that will preserve the wild mushrooms and chestnuts of autumn. I’m also excited about developing a nettle and potato soup mix. Both of these soup powders will be vegan and gluten free. All you’ll need to do is add a scoop to a mug of boiling water for some wildly sensational soup.

My mind has been going crazy since discovering some new native herbs. I’m expecting to blend a range of entirely native spice mixes to use as a dry rub or seasoning for meat. I’m most excited about a huge patch of native spearmint that I’ve been raiding here in the Grampians. I intend to use it in a spice mix for lamb. I’ve also been thinking about developing a native spearmint and kunzea jelly to serve with your lamb roast instead of the stock standard mint jelly. Hopefully I’ll be able to expand my range of herbal teas to include some minty teabags that will sit nicely beside my lemony teabags. There may be others too.

In the meantime, I’ll keep updating the ‘Ordering Online’ post with the goodies I have in stock, and tell you about new creations when they’re ready. Please drop by and see what’s there and recommend me to your friends.

What do you think about my ideas for the coming season?

This entry was posted in Store, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Still selling something wild

  1. Liz Posmyk of Bizzy Lizzy's Good Things says:

    I love what you are doing!

  2. Great idea!! love the chestnut and mushroom idea

Leave a Reply

