Fluffy buttermilk spelt pancakes

This is one of those dishes that would have to go on the breakfast/brunch menu if I ever had my own café. I happened to have some buttermilk in my fridge, and decided to try my hand at the famed buttermilk pancakes. I did not, however, want the white fluffy kind. I wanted to use some of the award winning stone ground, wholemeal spelt flour I bought from the wind powered Callington Mill in Oatlands, Tasmania. These glorious pancakes are moist and ridiculously fluffy, but still have a richness from the flour and the use of raw sugar. I had thought to serve them with apricots preserved in spiced honey syrup. However, they truly only want a drizzle of good quality maple syrup.

Makes about 12 pancakes

2 cups wholemeal spelt flour
2 ½ teaspoons baking powder
½ teaspoon bi-carbonate soda
2 free range eggs
2 cups buttermilk
¼ cup raw sugar
½ teaspoon vanilla paste
¼ teaspoon salt
¼ cup melted butter
butter, for cooking
maple syrup, for serving

Sift together the flour, baking powder and bi-carbonate soda in a medium sized bowl.

In another mixing bowl, beat the eggs, then whisk in the buttermilk, sugar, vanilla and salt. Then mix through the melted butter.

Mix the wet ingredients into the dry, until they are barely combined. You want it to still have small lumps in it.

Melt a little butter in a frying pan over medium heat. Dollop large spoonfuls of batter into the hot pan, allowing significant room for them to expand. Cover the pan and cook the pancakes until the bottom is golden, bubbles have risen to the top of the pancakes and they are dry all over. Flip the pancakes over and cook, uncovered until golden.

Serve pancakes, two at a time, with maple syrup.

This entry was posted in Brunch and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fluffy buttermilk spelt pancakes

  1. Gary Lum says:

    Yum. Tempting me to return to carbs…almost 😉

  2. theintolerantchef says:

    These do look yummy! I so wish I could tolerate spelt 😦

  3. Liz Posmyk of Bizzy Lizzy's Good Things says:

    Sounds lovely, I find spelt so expensive at my local stores!

    • Susan says:

      I bought this flour while I was in Tassie Liz. I do love spelt. I find organic wholemeal spelt to be the best flour to start and feed a sourdough starter too. Back when I had a good job, I used to buy it from Supabarn in Civic. It would be a shame if it were out of your price range, it’s a delicious flour, and much better for people with sensitivities to wheat.

Leave a Reply

