Bush béarnaise

Bush bearnaise

Bush bearnaise

Last week I bought home both a steak, and some yabbies from the farmers market. I knew I wanted to make a sort of outback surf ‘n’ turf. But I realised that I could give an Aussie bush twist to the classic French sauce that would work beautifully. I could use aniseed myrtle to replace the tarragon, pepperberry leaf for the pepper, and a little saltbush. It worked out a treat. I used all dried herbs, but you can make adjustments if you’re lucky enough to have fresh. This is great with yabbies, asparagus or steak.

Makes 1-2 cups of sauce

100 millilitres white wine vinegar
100 millilitres white wine
1 shallot
1 teaspoon aniseed myrtle
1 teaspoon pepperberry leaf
1 teaspoon saltbush
2 free range egg yolks
1 tablespoon water
125 grams butter, chilled and cubed

Place the wine, vinegar, chopped shallot and herbs in a saucepan and simmer until reduced to a third. Beat in the egg yolks and water, then strain, discarding the solids. Return the mixture to the heat and whisk until it thickens. Whisk in a third of the chilled butter at a time, ensuring each batch is fully incorporated before adding the next third. Keep the sauce warm until you need to serve.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Bush béarnaise

  1. lizzygoodthings says:

    Nice one, Susan!

  2. Eha says:

    Oh, I would like to taste that! No bush tucker of any kind at home presently but am putting a Christmas order in for Australian game and the SA firm keeps pepperberry and saltbush and I do hope the aniseed myrtle! Can’t wait!!

    • Susan says:

      Oh I hope the have it Eha, it’s amazing! Herbies spices have sachets of it. But I bought mine from Gewurzhaus (all those spices come in pretty brown glass jars). Both companies sell online.

      • Eha says:

        Wow!! Sorry to sound childish, but . . . Oh I know and have bought from Herbies since it first began but methinks but you have really put the cat amongst the pigeons with your link to ‘Gewurzhaus’ – have just visited, think its choice is absolutely great and shall have to eat the proverbial spaghetti and baked beans to put a big order in there soonest! Much much better than my idea [or Herbies choice?] . . . the prices certainly are not higher! Thank you heaps and I hope you do not mind if I post your blog with the link to some of my Australian friends!!

      • Susan says:

        Lol. I totally understand Eha. I’m like a kid in a candy store at Gewurzhaus! I love them! They just opened up a store in Sydney too!

Leave a Reply

