Pineapple fried rice

Pineapple fried rice

Pineapple fried rice

I often feel like eating Thai food as the weather warms up. Australian pineapples are coming into season, and I’ve found myself with enough of a hankering to buy them fresh. Of course a properly ripe pineapple is delicious as is, sliced and peeled, but there are loads of other things I do with it too. I use it in my own fresh and vibrant version of sweet and sour pork. But this week I also found myself making pineapple fried rice. In Thailand I remember it having little shrimp or minced chicken or pork through it. But I like this vegetarian version.

It’s great as it is or as an accompaniment to a Thai style fish dish. I served it with a whole wrass, marinaded in ginger and lemongrass, and pan fried to crisp perfection in coconut oil. It would also be delicious with baked fish like the snapper I posted a while back.

Serves 1 for lunch, or two as a side dish

¼ fresh pineapple
2 teaspoons coconut or macadamia oil
1 whole onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, chopped
1 pinch salt
2 free range egg
½ curry powder
½ teaspoon sugar
2 teaspoons soy sauce
1-2 cups cooked rice*

*you need to use rise that was cook at least the day before and refrigerated. This gives the rice time to dry out just enough to not become sticky when recooked.

Peel the pineapple and remove the core. Roughly chop into chunks about a centimetre cubed.

Place the oil, onion, garlic and salt in a frying pan and cook till the onion is soft.

Push the onion and garlic to the edge of the pan and crack an egg in the middle. Break the yolk and stir occasionally till the egg is set, then stir to break it up. Repeat with the remaining egg.

Add the curry powder, sugar, soy and rice to the pan. Mix to combine.

Add the pineapple and cook till hot.

This entry was posted in Lunch, Side dish, Summer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

