Must do food experiences in America

I was blessed to be told, with only a week to go before my departure date, that I would be given funding to visit the United States. The trip was not food related. I would be attending a large conference at the United Nations, then spending a few weeks as a visiting scholar at a think tank in Washington, before attending a conference at the Naval War College in Rhode Island. But I certainly had a list of must-do food experiences while stateside. The list is short.

  1. Make my own maple syrup
  2. Blueberry bagel with cream cheese
  3. Reuben sandwich
  4. New England Clam Chowder

When I thought I might be headed to Rhode Island in April, I had a look around the seasonal food events. When I discovered it would be maple sugaring season, I started to get very excited about the possibility of making my very own Maple syrup, from tap to bottle. I heard about an indigenous maple thanksgiving ceremony held at the Tomaquag Museum in Exeter, Rhode Island. Chepachet Farm in Glocester, Rhode Island have agreed for me to visit them. They’re a family operation, with a few hundred trees tapped in a traditional fashion. If I can get the transport and timing sorted, it sounds perfect!

Many, many years ago I watched a film that I loved, in which a New York dad and his daughter loved blueberry bagels with cream cheese. The combination sounded fabulous, and has appealed to me ever since. At home, blueberry bagels are the only ones I’ll buy, and I always have them with cream cheese (and nothing else). But New York is supposed to be home of the best bagels and cream cheese is such a popular filling; I couldn’t not include this combination on my list.

You may recall my post about BLT sandwich, in which I argued that BLT is the best sandwich filling. Well, I caveated that claim, saying I hadn’t tried a Reuben sandwich, which I hadn’t tried. The combination of corned beef, sauerkraut, melted Swiss cheese and Russian dressing between two pieces of rye bread has sounded pretty good to me from the time I first heard about it. It seems New York is the ultimate place to try such a sandwich.

Chowder is delicious. I am a fan of the cream based variety typical to New England. For the life of me, I can’t figure out why anyone would make a tomato based chowder as is done in New York. When I first started blogging, I posted my seafood chowder recipe that I still haven’t beaten. I love clams, and it seems like they are such typical New England fare, I have a vision of sitting by the window in some little Rhode Island cottage restaurant by the sea with a bowl of steaming clam chowder.

What would be on your must do food list for a trip to America?

This entry was posted in Dining Out, Thoughts, Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Must do food experiences in America

  1. lizzygoodthings says:

    Happy travels, Susan… really enjoying your FB posts and adventures.

    • Susan says:

      Thanks Liz! I have a few other posts pending, but needed to get this one up first. I’ve been incredibly busy since arriving, but having an incredible time (for the most part)

  2. jessacass says:

    This is very timely Susan as I am heading to the States in May! I also have bagels and a Reuben sandwich on my “to eat” list!

    • Susan says:

      How exciting Jess! I had low expectations of the food, but it’s been mostly great. I’ve also had some soul food (read: incredible fried chicken) in Harlem, and a great plain bagel with cream cheese, smoked salmon, capers and onion at Ess-a-bagel

  3. We went a few years ago (just to the Pacific Northwest, where we ate more Indian food than anything else…but I did have a hot dog at EMP in Seattle, made with local ingredients, brownie, cranberry lemonade on the cranberry coast, and organic blackberry soda in Portland….and the fish and chips we had came with good coleslaw as a standard thing – I thought that was pretty civilised. Went once to a Denny’s, but not a Taco Bell…

  4. Yep, all of the above and every other item you’ve eaten so far on your trip. I read your adventures out loud to my colleagues today and said this is what my daughter and I will do when I win Lotto ☺️

    • Susan says:

      Tehehehehe. Now that I’ve finally posted my original list Fran, I can start posting about some specific experiences. I love how much joy you’re getting from the facebook posts though. Tehehehe, also thanks for the shout at with your colleagues!!!

Leave a Reply

