Pumpkin Juice

In the world of witchcraft and wizardry, pumpkin juice seems to fill the same role orange juice does in the muggle world. It is served at breakfast, lunch, a feast or any other occasion. In the Chamber of Secrets, when Harry was hot and thirsty, tired of riding in the flying car, he had

“stopped noticing the fantastic cloud shapes now and was thinking longingly of the train miles below, where you could buy ice-cold pumpkin juice from a trolley pushed by a plump witch.”

I borrowed a juicer from a friend just to figure out how I’d make this classic Harry Potter drink. It’s been high on my project list for ‘pages to plate’ for quite some time. It was worth it. It’s a great treat to take your mind into the wizarding world one weekend, or when you feel like reading one of J.K. Rowling’s classic books. Many American recipes call for cooked pumpkin, but I wanted something more refreshing. Having put my fresh pumpkin through the juicer, I realised the flavour of the plain juice was a little peculiar for my palette. I thought a little lemon juice would lift the flavour, and some apple would give it a little familiarity. I am very glad with the balance I have struck. It has the freshness of the raw juice we are accustomed to in Australia (the equivalent of what American’s might call cider) and retains the unmistakable characteristics of pumpkins.

Harry Potter and a glass of fresh, icy pumpkin juice

Harry Potter and a glass of fresh, icy pumpkin juice

 

Knowing pumpkins aren’t particularly juicy, I picked the juiciest looking one I could find at the farmer’s market. A quarter of a pumpkin yielded about two cups of juice for me. I reserved the seeds and pulp. The pulp I used to fill ravioli. The seeds, I hulled and dry roasted as a garnish for that dish.

Serves 2

2 cup fresh pumpkin juice
2/3 cup apple juice
2 tablespoon lemon juice

Combine the juices in a glass, serve immediately, chilled.

This entry was posted in Autumn, Drinks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

