Beetroot patties

Beetroot patties

Beetroot patties

I developed this recipe for my Meat Free Week cooking demonstration at the Capital Region Farmers Market. In addition to being the basis for great meat free meals, these patties are also egg free. I used chickpea flour for the flavour, gladly making the recipe gluten free, but you can use some other flour if you like. I like using butter, but you can easily cook them in oil instead to make them vegan friendly too.

Beetroot is a glorious ingredient. First time around, I simply enjoyed these beautiful little patties with an extra sprinkle of Murray River Salt Flakes. But there are several great cheesemakers at the market, and I found the perfect goat cheese to pair with beetroot. Leaning Oak make a great goat feta in brine that I thought could be showed off beautifully with seasonal beetroot and a little rocket. I’ll serve them like this at the market. On Sunday, I’ll serve them topped with a poached egg and sprinkled with a little za’atar or sumac.

Makes 8

2 cups grated fresh beetroot
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground pepper
1/4 cup chickpea (besan) flour
1 tablespoon butter or oil

Combine the grated beetroot, salt and pepper. Set aside for at least 15 minutes to infuse. Add the chickpea flour and mix with a fork till thoroughly combined.

Melt some of the butter in a non-stick frying pan on a medium low heat. Arrange dollops of the beetroot mixture in the pan, fixing the edges so the patties are round. Gently cook for about five minutes. When the bottom is crisp and the patty holds together, gently flip the patties over and cook on the other side. You want them to be crisp and golden on both sides.

Remove from the pan and set aside till you’re ready to serve.

I would recommend serving these at brunch topped with a poached egg and sprinkled with a little za’atar or sumac. For lunch serve them topped with fresh goat cheese and rocket. For dinner they’d be delicious with hot smoked trout.

This entry was posted in Autumn, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Beetroot patties

  1. azita says:

    How coo! very intrigued by this recipe. I just have to get some flour and then I’m good to give it a try. With butter!! And the egg.

Leave a comment