Moroccan spiced lamb shanks

Moroccan spice lamb shanks with carrot salad and minted couscous

Lamb shanks are one of the true gifts of the sheep. I have a favourite way to prepare them, but over the last few years, have branched out, preparing them in a range of different ways. My most joyous memories from my time in hospital was when I started to get well enough for us to prepare some lamb shanks in the ward kitchen. I’ve had some saltbush lamb shanks from Bundawarrah in the freezer for a while now. I thought about preparing them with Moroccan flavours when I saw the beautiful multicoloured carrots at the market. I figured I could serve the shanks with a Moroccan carrot salad and some minted couscous. I made the salad and couscous before I got around to the shanks, but made them again this evening. It made for a great dinner.

Serves 2

2 lamb shanks
1/2 cup passata
1/2 teaspoon coriander seeds, roughly crushed
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon onion flakes
2 pinches chilli flakes

Preheat the oven to 180oC. Combine all ingredients in a small, lidded baking tray. Combine thoroughly. Bake (with the lid on) for at least 2 and half hours, the longer the better. If the dish gets too dry, add a little water.

Serve with minted couscous and carrot salad.

Enjoy.

About Susan

Susan is the ACT Convenor of the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom. She is currently undertaking a PhD in International Relations. Susan continues to work on the Annual Civil Society Dialogue on Women, Peace and Security.
This entry was posted in Dinner. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

