Camp cooking – pork ribs with local cider and apples

A friend and I recently went camping for the weekend at the Tumut Festival of the Falling Leaf. It was wonderful. Tumut really does look beautiful at this time of year. It was great to get out of Canberra, and fantastic to spend a couple of chilled out nights by the campfire. We camped by the Tumut River and expected it to be cold. We had a camp fire each night and I mastered a technique of skewering meat and dangling it into the fire drum to cook to smokey delight. The river is beautiful and flows quite fast. I guess I shouldn’t be surprised, I’m sure it’s fed with snow run off. I imagine there would be trout in it. I’d love to learn to catch trout. The morning fog lifted slowly from its waters, and the setting sun glistened on its surface, looking particularly spectacular through the autumn leaves. I would highly recommend a trip to you, should you ever be around town during autumn.

The area around Tumut is home to some good apple orchards. Knowing this in advance I took some pork ribs with us (from Boxgum Grazing of course) hoping to slow cook them on the camp fire with some local apples. I figured with all these apples around, someone should surely be making cider which would make the perfect addition to this recipe. Virtually the first stall we visited at the festival was for Batlow Premium Cider. The cider is a lovely, fresh, fruity and refreshing drop, crisp like the autumn evening. I was totally stoked and told them about my dinner idea. We were lucky enough to even score ourselves some free Batlow apples for the pot. It had been been about twenty years since I cooked with a camp oven, but the dish came together great. I’d recommend it to any camp cooks. Batlow will be holding the second ever CiderFest on 18 May 2013. I’d love to go, and would recommend you go if you can. I think this would make the perfect meal if you camp overnight for that. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Serves 2

grams pork ribs
1 onion, peeled and sliced
1 clove garlic, peeled and sliced
1 apple, peeled, cored and sliced
1/8 teaspoon salt and pepper
1 bottle cider

Spear the pork ribs with a fire proof skewer and par cook them on the fire to give them a little colour and smokey flavour. Place the ribs in the camp oven with all the other ingredients and place the lid on top. Find a cooler part of the fire and bury the camp oven in coals. Leave to cook for 1-2 hours.

Serve the ribs with all cooking juices and jacket roasted potatoes or buttery mash.

This entry was posted in Autumn, Dinner, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Camp cooking – pork ribs with local cider and apples

  1. lizzygoodthings says:

    Lovely post, Susan.

Leave a Reply

